es Español

Fide“ 牛津大学耶稣学院第二届国际会议 将于明年 4 月 5 日、6 日和 XNUMX 日举行。

大会的首要议题是 民族主义、民粹主义和身份认同:当代挑战. 在全球范围内,民族主义和民粹主义的增长不仅是欧洲,而且是北美、南美和亚太地区面临的最大挑战之一。 如果这意味着国家退回到孤立主义的心态,并远离有效的多边解决方案来解决感知到的跨境问题,这可能是一种破坏性力量。

大会将从法律和经济角度分析民族主义和民粹主义。 我们将涵盖 i 的各个方面民族主义/民粹主义政策对南美养老金计划资金的影响 出乎意料地呼吁资金来应对 COVID-19 的影响

大会还将讨论其他跨领域问题,使用 关于欧盟难民外部化政策、气候变化问题的独立小组 (具体参考 26 年 2021 月在格拉斯哥举行的第 XNUMX 届缔约方大会 (COP) 的成果),以及 错误信息和言论自由 在现代民主社会。

在这里找到有关大会的所有信息 民族主义背景下的宪法、法律或治理问题工作组

总结

民粹主义者是多数派。 他们反对在他们看来阻碍欧盟在卫生领域制定有效政策的法律、价值观和制度,这不仅是我们正在经历的大流行病的必要性。 这也是一项挑战,不仅可以极大地帮助建立一个共同的健康空间,而且可以阻止民族主义和民粹主义运动对欧盟项目的批评。 未来欧盟项目的民主危机和风险与其社会议程直接相关,其中健康是与公民最相关的问题之一。 可以得出结论,走向一个具有共同卫生框架的欧盟就是走向一个“健康”的欧盟。

  1. 民族主义和全球获得 Covid 疫苗,以及在大流行的背景下获得医疗保健资源(机械呼吸机和其他 ICU 资源)。  
  2. 获取卫生资源的民族主义和优先规则和价值观。 
  3.  冠状病毒时代的知识、科学和数据

职权范围

  1. 民族主义和全球获得 Covid 疫苗,以及在大流行的背景下获得医疗保健资源(机械呼吸机和其他 ICU 资源)。  

世界上较富裕的经济体,包括欧洲经济体,有能力购买疫苗库存和重症监护室资源,以造福本国国民。 在政治上,自身利益不可避免地会成为一个重要因素,尤其是在疫苗研发资金受益于公共投资的情况下。 但是 Covid 19 全球大流行不分国界。 应采取国际行动确保较贫穷国家也能够受益,这同样符合国家利益。 Covax 倡议 [1] 是“一项突破性的全球合作,旨在加速 Covid 19 测试、治疗和疫苗的开发、生产和公平获取……以确保世界上每个国家都能公平和公平地获取……”欧盟和英国已签署协议支持 Covax 倡议。 但是,根据 BMJ 全球健康杂志,这些目标“受到威胁,因为富裕国家与 Covid 19 疫苗供应商签订双边采购协议……” 考虑到 Covid 大流行开始时的经验,类似的反思应该集中在 ICU 资源上。 

工作组受邀 考虑到那些已签订双边采购协议但尚未签署 Covax 倡议的国家的利益和论点,考虑疫苗生产和库存的公平分享是否存在疫苗民族主义威胁。 可以使用哪些机制来激励那些尚未支持 Covax 的国家,例如美国? 应该采取哪些积极步骤 FIDE 基金会推荐? 对于 ICU 资源(如机械呼吸机)的全球访问和分配,也应进行类似的思考。 

  1. 获取卫生资源的民族主义和优先规则和价值观。 

在 Covid 大流行开始时,在这样的健康危机中出现了真正的道德危机。 它与不同国家(欧盟层面,意大利和西班牙,以及来自不同地区,墨西哥)的不同提案有关,主要是医学协会和工作团队关于 ICU 资源分配的建议,其中包括机械呼吸机。 因此,不仅缺乏欧盟的共同提案,还有一些基于功利主义标准的国家提案,没有考虑《欧盟基本权利宪章》和国家宪法所载的原则和价值观。 这些功利主义的建议没有考虑残疾人和老年人等弱势群体。

邀请工作组 考虑在这种稀缺大流行的情况下如何分配医疗资源。 从伦理、经济、社会和法律角度进行的分析将考虑到《宪章》和欧洲委员会条例(奥维耶多公约)所载的原则和价值观。 是否有可能为疫苗和呼吸机等卫生措施的分配和优先级制定欧洲原则和标准?

  1.  冠状病毒时代的知识、科学和数据

知识和建立在它之上的技术支持着我们的世界。 它们在我们的生活中从未如此重要,也从未有过如此大的经济和社会价值。 然而,某些科学进步和技术发展也从未被如此多的人如此不信任,甚至到了极端否定主义的地步。 虽然有些人认为科学家和专家对于为我们面临的主要问题提供解决方案至关重要,但对于另一些人来说,他们应对所有罪恶负责。 虽然有些人希望知识能够带领我们超越错误和无知,并且希望技术能够解决我们几乎所有的问题并为我们带来更美好的生活,但也有一些人担心它们会将我们引向最糟糕的问题。 这场大流行病只是突显甚至加剧了这种看似自相矛盾的情况。 想想有很多人不仅拒绝疫苗,甚至否认疾病本身。

算法和计算机从海量数据中提取人类知识范围之外的内容及其分析能力的能力使我们想到数据的巨大潜力——已经开始以一种不恰当但非常流行的比喻,新石油——同时也是奥威尔几十年前向我们描述的老大哥。 技术自主性、数据的可用性和重复使用、数据的安全性、隐私、对基于数据的系统的信任,是一些在地球上甚至在欧盟都没有达成一致意见的问题。

我们描述的这种情况受到政治、文化、历史、教育、地缘政治背景的影响。 分析它们很重要,因为有必要了解一个不仅不能忽视而且必须解释和面对的现象。 如果我们希望欧洲坚定地走向围绕知识和技术发展的联盟,别无选择。 一个尊重人民及其个人和集体权利的欧洲,科学和技术服务于共同利益,而不是各种不平等的放大器。

在本章的过程中,除了描述这些明显的悖论外,工作组还将重点分析它们的原因和后果,以及它们受不同国家间和区域内环境影响的程度。

费德里科·德·蒙塔尔沃 提供 FIDE 基金会

工作组成员:

负责人:

费德里科·德·蒙塔尔沃

IBC UNESCO 西班牙生物伦理委员会主席(WG 负责人)

建设性的朋友:

罗萨里奥·科斯佩达尔·加西亚

基因组学总监。 成员 Fide的国际学术委员会。 (WG 的建设性朋友)。

塞嫩泥

圣地亚哥德孔波斯特拉大学 CiTIUS 智能技术研究中心科学主任

丹尼尔·内华瑞(Daniel Innerarity)

政治和社会哲学教授,巴斯克大学IKERBASQUE研究员,民主治理研究所所长。 他是佛罗伦萨欧洲大学学院的兼职讲师。

加布里埃尔·洛佩兹·塞拉诺(Gabriel Lopez Serrano)

Microsoft Ibérica 法规事务总监

塞拉诺壳牌

辉瑞 SLU 机构关系总监

山谷的玛格丽特

CSIC研究科学家,Severo Ochoa分子生物学中心(CSIC-UAM)病毒免疫学组组长,马德里社区疫苗专家咨询委员会成员。

* 重要提示:工作组和小组的所有成员都以个人、非机构身份参与,尽管我们在不同的工作文件中反映了每个参与者的当前位置,以便更好地识别他们。

牛津会议/22:

民族主义、民粹主义和身份认同:当代挑战

联系我们

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Fide’s 2nd international congress at Jesus College Oxford will take place next April, on the 4th, 5th, and 6th.

The overarching topic of the congress is Nationalism, populism, and identities: contemporary challenges. In the global context, the growth of nationalism and populism is one of the greatest challenges facing not only Europe but also North and South America and the Asia Pacific. This can be a destructive force if it means that states retreat into an isolationist mindset and away from effective multilateral solutions to perceived cross-border problems.

The congress will analyse Nationalism and populism from a legal and economic perspective. We will cover aspects of the impact of nationalist/ populist policies on the funding of South American pension schemes where there have been unexpected calls on funds to deal with the effects of COVID-19

The Congress will also cover other cross-cutting issues, using free-standing panels on EU refugee externalisation policies, climate change issues (with specific reference to the outcome of the Conference of the Parties (COP) 26 in November 2021 in Glasgow), and misinformation and free speech in modern democratic societies.

Find here all the information on the Congress’ Working Group on CONSTITUTIONAL, LEGAL, OR GOVERNANCE QUESTIONS IN THE CONTEXT OF NATIONALISM

Summary

Populists are majoritarians. They are opposed to laws, values, and institutions which in their view prevent The development of effective policies in the field of health by the EU is not only a necessity derived from the pandemic we are experiencing. It is also a challenge that can greatly help the construction not only of a common space in health, but also to stop criticism from nationalist and populist movements against the EU project. The democratic crisis and the risks for the future EU project are directly related to its social agenda and health is, among them, one of the most relevant for citizens. It can be concluded that moving towards an EU with a common framework in health is moving towards an EU with “good health”.

  1. Nationalism and global access to Covid vaccines and, in general, to healthcare resources in the context of a pandemic (mechanical ventilators and other ICU resources).  
  2. Nationalism and priorization rules and values to access to health resources. 
  3.  Knowledge, science, and data in times of Coronavirus

Terms of Reference

  1. Nationalism and global access to Covid vaccines and, in general, to healthcare resources in the context of a pandemic (mechanical ventilators and other ICU resources).  

The richer economies of the World, including those in Europe, can afford to buy vaccine stocks and also ICU resources in order to benefit their own nationals. Politically, it is inevitable that self-interest will be an important factor especially where funding for the research and development of a vaccine has benefited from public investment. But the Covid 19 global pandemic does not respect borders. It is as much in the national interest that international action should be taken to ensure that poorer countries are also able to benefit. The Covax initiative [1] is a “ground-breaking global collaboration to accelerate the development, production and equitable access to Covid 19 tests, treatments and vaccines….to guarantee fair and equitable access for every country in the world…” The EU and the UK have signed up to support the Covax initiative. But, according to the BMJ Global Health journal, these goals are being “threatened as rich nations enter into bilateral purchase agreements with Covid 19 vaccine suppliers….” A similar reflection should be focused on ICU resources, considering the experience at the beginning of the Covid pandemic. 

The working group is invited to consider whether there is a vaccine nationalism threat to the equitable sharing of vaccine manufacture and stocks, taking account of the interests and arguments of those countries which have entered into bilateral purchase agreements, but which have not yet signed up to the Covax initiative. What mechanisms might be used to incentivise those nations which have not yet supported Covax, such as the USA? What active steps should FIDE Fundacion recommend? A similar reflection should be made in relation to the global access and allocation to ICU resources such as mechanical ventilators. 

  1. Nationalism and priorization rules and values to access to health resources. 

At the beginning of the Covid pandemic there was a real ethical crisis in the middle of such a health crisis. It was related to different proposal in different States (at the EU level, Italy, and Spain, and from a different Region, Mexico) mainly by medical associations and working teams about allocation of ICU resources, and among them, mechanical ventilators. So, there was not only a lack of EU common proposal, but also some national proposal based on utilitarian criterion, without considering the principles and values enshrined in the EU Charter of fundamental rights and the national constitutions. These utilitarian proposals didn´t considered vulnerable groups such as people with disabilities and elderly.

The working group is invited to consider how the allocation of healthcare resources during a situation of scarce such a pandemic should be based on. The analysis from an ethical, economic, social, and legal standpoint will take into account the principles and values enshrined in the Charter and Council of Europe regulation (Oviedo Convention). Is it possible to develop a European principles and criterions for the allocation and priorization of that health measures, such as vaccines and ventilators?

  1.  Knowledge, science, and data in times of Coronavirus

Knowledge and the technology that builds on it support our world. Never have they been so crucial in our lives and never have they had so much economic and social value. However, neither have certain scientific advances and technological developments ever been so mistrusted by so many people, even to the point of extreme negationism. While some believe that scientists and experts are essential to provide solutions to the major problems we face, for others they are responsible for all evils. While there are those who hope that knowledge will lead us beyond error and ignorance and that technology will solve almost all our problems and bring us a better life, there are also those who fear that they are leading us to the worst problems. The pandemic has only highlighted and even exacerbated this seemingly paradoxical situation. Just think of the large number of people who not only reject vaccines, but even deny the disease itself.

The ability of algorithms and computers to extract from huge amounts of data what is beyond the reach of human knowledge and its capacity to be analysed, leads us to think of the immense potential of data – which has come to be compared, in an inappropriate but very popular simile, to the new petroleum – and at the same time to the Big Brother that Orwell described to us decades ago. Technological autonomy, the availability, and re-use of data, its security, privacy, trust in data-based systems, are some of the issues on which there is no unanimity, neither on Earth nor even in the European Union.

This situation that we describe is influenced by political, cultural, historical, educational, geopolitical contexts. It is important to analyse them, as it is necessary to understand a phenomenon that not only cannot be ignored but must be explained and confronted. There is no alternative if we want Europe to move firmly towards a union around knowledge and technological development. A Europe that respects people and their individual and collective rights, where science and technology serve the common good and not as amplifiers of all kinds of inequalities.

In the course of this chapter, in addition to describing these apparent paradoxes, the working group will focus on analysing their causes and consequences, and the extent to which they are influenced by different national inter-and intra-regional contexts.

Federico de Montalvo for FIDE Foundation

WG Members:

Leader:

Federico de Montalvo

President of the Spanish Bioethics Committee, IBC UNESCO (Leader of the WG)

Constructive Friend:

Rosario Cospedal García

Director General of Genómica. Member of Fide’s International Academic Council. (Constructive friend of the WG).

Senén Barro

Scientific Director of the CiTIUS-Research Center in Intelligent Technologies of the University of Santiago de Compostela

Daniel Innerarity

Professor of political and social philosophy, IKERBASQUE researcher at the University of the Basque Country and director of the Institute for Democratic Governance. He is a part-time lecturer at the European University Institute in Florence.

Gabriel López Serrano

Director of Regulatory Affairs for Microsoft Ibérica

Concha Serrano

Director of Institutional Relations, Pfizer S.L.U.

Margarita del Val

Research Scientist at CSIC, Head of the Viral Immunology Group at the Severo Ochoa Molecular Biology Centre (CSIC-UAM), member of the Expert Advisory Committee on Vaccines of the Community of Madrid.

* Important note: All members of the Working Groups and panels participate in an individual, non-institutional capacity, although we reflect each participant with their current position in the different working documents to better identify them.

Oxford Congress /22:

Nationalism, populism and identities: contemporary challenges

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.