es Español

英国政府有权在承认苏格兰独立之前施加民主和国家安全条件

“对于像英国解体这样的不可逆转的变化,一次性的绝对多数票是一个有缺陷的选择。现在是时候改变目标并明确表示,如果有两次公投,英国才会承认独立的苏格兰结果是有利的,如果英国其他国家的利益得到保障。”

这是一个可以被描述为副产品的博客 来自 Fide 基金会民粹主义民族主义和身份大会,于 2022 年 XNUMX 月在牛津大学耶稣学院举行。


苏格兰政府和议会于 1999 年根据英国议会的一项法案成立。 苏格兰的自治权力有限,包括一些税收和借贷权力。 质疑 达成协议 2012 年英国首相戴维·卡梅伦和苏格兰首相亚历克斯·萨尔蒙德之间曾在 2014 年就苏格兰是否应该从英国独立的问题进行了全民公投。 公投的结果是 苏格兰 拒绝 独立 55% 到 45%。 尽管苏格兰政府声明公投代表了“一代人一次”的独立投票机会,但 治理 SNP党争辩说 不断变化的情况,特别是英国退欧,意味着第二次公投——Indyref2——是合理的。 争论最近愈演愈烈。

苏格兰首席部长 Nicola Sturgeon 加大了对 Indyref2 的政治压力。 如果一切都按照 SNP 的计划进行, 公投将于 19 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日举行. 如果“是”以微弱优势获胜,SNP 将声称它已经建立了独立的民主权利。 否则,斯特金表示,SNP 会将下一次大选视为“事实上的”公投,而 SNP 的胜利将与公投具有相同的效果。

6 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,鲍里斯·约翰逊n 拒绝同意进一步公投, 说“我不能同意现在是时候”,并且 工党似乎已经排除了在未来十年内举行公投的可能性。  所有保守党 取代鲍里斯·约翰逊的竞争者 因为英国首相要么拒绝了它,要么暂时排除了它。 这种方法有很好的论据,但同样也有很好的论据来质疑这样一种假设,即在 2014 年公投中以微弱多数票就可以保证苏格兰独立和英国的解体。

国际法和英国法律都没有赋予苏格兰离开英国的合法权利。 通往独立的唯一途径是通过与英国政府的合作和英国议会的立法。

没有令人信服的理由说明英国政府和英国主要反对党应该承认一次性公投为独立之路开辟了道路。 建议他们说他们不这样做,并说明苏格兰实现独立需要满足的条件。

51.9 年 48.1 月,英国脱欧以 2016% 对 2021% 的小幅获胜,但直到 XNUMX 年初英国终于退出单一市场和关税同盟,公众才开始感受到英国脱欧的影响。 迹象表明,重新举行脱欧公投将产生不同的结果。

公投六年后,去年的民意调查显示,现在多数人会投票重新加入欧盟。 民意调查显示,现在有更多人认为英国退欧 对经济的损害大于相信它是有益的,还有更多的人 相信英国脱欧是一个错误 而不是相信这是正确的做法。 但英国脱欧是那些难以逆转的事件之一,也许是不可能逆转的。 苏格兰独立将是另一个在实践中不可逆转的事件,即使苏格兰选民在独立实际发生时改变了主意。

英国脱欧和苏格兰独立之间的类比并不精确,但中心论点是站得住脚的——对于像英国解体这样的不可逆转的变化,一次性多数票对苏格兰和苏格兰都是不可接受的。整个英国。

SNP 会说,在一次性多数投票之后获得独立权符合我们迄今为止的宪法惯例,即 2014 年苏格兰独立公投。

SNP 可能会补充说,关于北爱尔兰的法律和实践也指向一次性多数票足以让英国国家离开联盟的方向。 根据 1998 年北爱尔兰法案,国务卿应持有 边境鸡 “如果在他看来,在任何时候,大多数投票者可能会表示希望北爱尔兰不再是联合王国的一部分并成为统一爱尔兰的一部分”。

但北爱尔兰是一个特例。 1998 年法令中的条款反映了 耶稣受难日协议, 它规定在爱尔兰和北爱尔兰就统一的爱尔兰问题同时进行民意调查。 这些安排实际上并不是一次性多数投票决定苏格兰独立问题的先例。

2014 年的公投固然是一个先例,但它是一个糟糕的先例,不应再将其视为检验苏格兰在独立问题上的意见的模板。

苏格兰独立将是一项不可撤销的宪法决定。 整个英国都会受到苏格兰独立的影响,独立的一些影响会是不利的。 这不是英国政府排除苏格兰独立的论据,而是只有在苏格兰选民的意愿似乎已经确定并可能持久,并且英国其他地区的利益时才承认独立的论据受到尊重。 只要英国仍然是一个单一的国家,英国政府就有权并且或许有义务在政治和道德上考虑所有英国公民的利益,并在与苏格兰政府就苏格兰的潜力问题进行交易时考虑这些利益. 独立。

苏格兰独立的代价和不利因素已被广泛讨论。 那些对英国其他地区的影响较小。 苏格兰独立会削弱形象和影响力 世界各地 即将出现的“新英国”(NUK)。 这将在两国之间建立一个海关边界,这将对来自边界南部和北部的居民和企业造成破坏性和经济破坏——据估计,其他英国国家对苏格兰的出口额为 占英国其他地区 GDP 的 3.5%

苏格兰独立将对苏格兰自己的国防政策和 NUK 的国防政策构成挑战。 苏格兰的领土和领空(包括其领海) 占英国近40%,专属经济区占英国60%以上. 该地区的空中和海上监视和防御将成为一个新国家的责任,这个国家的人口和 GDP 仅占当前英国的 8%。 如果遵循目前的 SNP 政策,那么 NUK 核威慑力量似乎可能不得不离开苏格兰, 尽管大多数苏格兰人目前支持英国的核威慑力量. 这个过程需要数年时间并且成本高昂,而且 NUK 威慑的未来可能会受到质疑。 这可能对北约核威慑政策的可信度构成威胁,在美国总统在任期间,如果美国总统对欧洲防务的支持不如美国总统那么坚定,这将严重依赖英国和法国的核武器能力。现任总统。

英国政府和议会应该重新考虑如何处理独立问题。 他们应该开始思考如何确保——在可能的范围内——未来任何关于苏格兰独立的决定都代表苏格兰人民坚定而持久的意愿,而不是在苏格兰独立日的公众舆论快照。投票。

他们还应该考虑如何在导致独立的谈判中解决和确保英国其他国家的利益,以及这些利益中的任何一个是否可能如此重要,以至于如果英国想要获得满意的保护,这些利益是否至关重要。承认苏格兰独立。

英国政府和议会可能会得出结论,承认苏格兰独立的条件应该是在两次公投中获得多数票,这两次公投都需要英国政府的批准。 拥有两票的想法是由前首相约翰·梅杰爵士提出的 在 2020 年 XNUMX 月在中殿举行的题为“我们所处的状态”的内容广泛的讲座中。有关理查德·罗斯教授对双重公投优势的分析,请参阅 此处.

本文作者主张两票方案如下进行。 如果苏格兰选民在第一次公投中投了“赞成票”,就贸易和边境安排、国防协定、法斯兰海军基地(英国核威慑基地)、国债和军事资产分割等问题进行谈判,和货币安排,将开始(对于本文作者关于如何解决其中一些问题的观点,请参阅 此处)。 这些谈判可能会很漫长。 在适当的时候,将过渡到财政自主,英国中央政府的财政支持将逐渐撤出,苏格兰将完全为自己的支出提供资金。

在就所有悬而未决的事项达成一致后,并在苏格兰获得一段时间的财政自主权之后,将举行第二次公投。 在那个阶段,苏格兰选民对独立的形式和感觉会变得更加清晰。 如果在第二次公投中获得独立多数票,英国议会的一项法案将承认建立独立的苏格兰,以及 NUK 对英国的合法继承。

从一开始就可以理解,只有当英国其他地区的合法利益得到双方商定的独立解决方案的充分保护时,英国才会承认苏格兰独立。 

一个敏感领域是国防。 防务协议的条款和英国核威慑的未来将影响北约对欧洲的防御,北约和英国都希望苏格兰作为有抱负的北约成员给予一定的声援。 核威慑是北约战略的基石。 作为 北约理事会于 2020 年 XNUMX 月提出,北约盟国“决心确保北约的核威慑保持安全、可靠和有效,并拒绝任何使核威慑非法化的企图。”

英国政界人士对 SNP 呼吁 Indyref2 的回应越多,他们的口头禅就是现在不是时候,他们就越确认确实会有 Indyref2 的预期,并且一次性以绝对多数票投赞成票。民意调查将保证独立性。 是时候改变目标了,确保建立一个更可靠的机制来进一步检验苏格兰对独立的看法,并指出一个不可回避的事实,即英国政府只有在符合英国其他国家利益的情况下才会承认独立的苏格兰受到尊重。

该博客是伦敦政治经济学院发布的博客的略微扩展版本 此处.


井架怀亚特,QC

是牛津大学法学名誉教授,教授欧盟法、宪法和国际公法。 他曾是一名专攻欧盟法院诉讼的大律师,现为欧盟国际学术委员会成员。 Fide 基础。

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
电子邮箱:

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系我们

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

The UK Government is entitled to impose democratic and national security conditions before it recognizes Scottish independence

"For an irreversible change like the break-up of the UK a one-off bare majority vote is a flawed option. It is time to move the goalposts and make it clear that the UK would only recognise an independent Scotland if there were two referendum results in favour, and if the interests of the rest of the UK were safeguarded."

This is a blog which can be described as a spin-off from the Fide Fundación’s Congress on Populism Nationalism and Identities, held at Jesus College Oxford in April 2022.


The Scottish Government and Parliament were established in 1999 by an Act of the UK Parliament. Scotland has limited powers of self-government, including some powers over taxation and borrowing. After an agreement between UK Prime Minister David Cameron and Scottish First Minister Alex Salmond in 2012 there was a referendum in 2014 on the question whether Scotland should become independent from the UK. The result of the referendum was that Scotland rejected independence by 55% to 45%. Despite statements by the Scottish Government that the referendum had represented a “once in a generation” opportunity to vote on independence, the governing SNP party has argued that changing circumstances, in particular Brexit, mean that a second referendum – Indyref2 – is justified. The debate has recently intensified.

Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has stepped up the political pressure for Indyref2. If all goes according to the SNP’s plan, that referendum will take place on 19 October 2023. If “yes” wins by even a narrow margin, the SNP will claim it has established a democratic right to independence. Failing that, Sturgeon says that the SNP would treat the next general election as a “de facto” referendum and that a win for the SNP would have the same effect as a referendum.

On 6 July 2022 Boris Johnson refused to agree to a further referendum, saying that “I cannot agree that now is the time”, and Labour appears to have ruled out a referendum within the next ten years.  All the Conservative party contenders to replace Boris Johnson as UK Prime Minister have either rejected it or ruled it out for the time being. There are good arguments for this approach, but equally good arguments for questioning the assumption that a bare majority vote in a re-run of the 2014 referendum would be all it would take to guarantee Scottish independence, and the break-up of the UK.

Neither international law nor UK law give Scotland a legal right to leave the UK. The only route to independence lies via cooperation with the UK Government and legislation of the UK Parliament.

There is no compelling reason why the UK Government and the main UK-wide opposition parties should recognise a one-off referendum as opening the route to independence. They would be well advised to say that they do not do so, and to spell out the conditions that Scotland would need to fulfil to achieve independence.

Brexit was won by a small margin of 51.9% to 48.1% in June 2016, but the effects of Brexit did not begin to be felt by the public until the beginning of 2021, when the UK had finally left the Single Market and Customs Union. The indications are that a re-run of the Brexit referendum would produce a different result.

Six years on from the referendum, opinion polls over the last year indicate that a majority would now vote to re-join the EU. Polls show that more people now believe Brexit has been damaging to the economy than believe it has been beneficial, and more people believe Brexit has been a mistake than believe it was the right thing to do. But Brexit is one of those events which is difficult and perhaps impossible to reverse. Scottish independence would be another event which would be irreversible in practice, even if the Scottish electorate had changed its mind by the time independence actually happened.

The analogy between Brexit and Scottish independence is not a precise one, but the central argument holds good – for an irreversible change like the break-up of the UK there are unacceptable hazards in a one-off majority vote, both for Scotland and for the UK as a whole.

The SNP would say that a right to independence following on from a one-off majority vote is in accordance with such constitutional practice as we have to date, that practice being the 2014 referendum on Scottish independence.

The SNP might add that law and practice in respect of Northern Ireland also points in the direction of a one-off majority vote being sufficient for a UK nation to leave the Union. Under the Northern Ireland Act 1998 the Secretary of State shall hold a border poll “if at any time it appears likely to him that a majority of those voting would express a wish that Northern Ireland should cease to be part of the United Kingdom and form part of a united Ireland”.

But Northern Ireland is a special case. The provision in the 1998 Act reflects the terms of the Good Friday Agreement, which provides for concurrent polls in Ireland and Northern Ireland on the question of a united Ireland. These arrangements are not in truth a precedent for a one-off majority poll to decide the issue of Scottish independence.

The 2014 referendum is admittedly a precedent, but it is a bad precedent, and it should no longer be regarded as a template for testing Scottish opinion on the issue of independence.

Scottish independence would be an irrevocable constitutional decision. The whole of the UK would be affected by Scottish independence, and some effects of independence would be adverse. That is not an argument for the UK Government ruling out Scottish independence, but it is an argument for only recognising that independence if the will of the Scottish electorate appears to be settled and likely to endure, and if the interests of the rest of the UK are respected. As long as the UK remains a single State the UK Government is entitled and perhaps obliged politically and ethically to have regard to the interests of all UK citizens and to have regard to those interests in its dealings with the Scottish Government on the issue of Scotland’s potential independence.

The costs and disadvantages to Scotland of independence have been much discussed. Those to the rest of the UK less so. Scottish independence would erode the image and influence around the world of the “New UK” (NUK) which would emerge. It would create a customs border between the two countries which would be disruptive and economically damaging for residents and businesses from south as well as north of the border – exports to Scotland from the other UK nations have been estimated at 3.5% of the GDP of the rest of the UK

Scottish independence would pose challenges both for Scotland’s own defence policy and that of the NUK. Scotland’s territory and airspace (including its territorial sea) comprise nearly 40% of that of the UK, and its exclusive economic zone comprises more than 60% of that of the UK. Aerial and maritime surveillance and defence of this area would become the responsibility of a new State with only 8% of the population and GDP of the current UK. If current SNP policy were followed it seems likely that the NUK nuclear deterrent would have to leave Scotland, despite the fact that most Scots currently support the UK nuclear deterrent. The process would take years and would be costly, and the future of the NUK deterrent could be put in doubt. This could pose a threat to the credibility of NATO’s policy of nuclear deterrence, which will lean heavily on the nuclear weapons capabilities of the UK and France in periods when an American President is in office who is a less determined supporter of European defence than is the present President.

The UK Government and Parliament should think again about how the independence issue should be handled. They should start thinking about how to ensure – as far as it is possible to do so – that any future decision on Scottish independence would represent the settled and enduring will of the Scottish people, rather than a snapshot of public opinion on the day of the vote.

They should also consider how the interests of the rest of the UK could be addressed and secured in the negotiations which would lead to independence, and whether any of those interests might be of such importance that their satisfactory protection would be essential if the UK were to recognise Scottish independence.

The UK Government and Parliament might conclude that a condition for recognising the independence of Scotland should be a majority vote in two referendums, both of which would require the approval of the UK Government. The idea of having two votes was advanced by former Prime Minister Sir John Major in a wide-ranging lecture entitled “The State we’re in” delivered at the Middle Temple in November 2020. For an analysis of the advantages of double referendums by Professor Richard Rose see here.

The present writer would advocate that the two-vote scenario play out as follows. If the Scottish electorate voted “yes” in the first referendum, negotiations on issues such as trade and border arrangements, a defence pact, Faslane Naval Base (home of the UK’s nuclear deterrent), division of the national debt and military and other assets, and currency arrangements, would begin (for the views of the present writer on how some of these issues might be resolved see here). Those negotiations might be lengthy. In due course there would be a transition to financial autonomy, in which UK central government financial support would be gradually withdrawn, and Scotland would fully fund its own expenditure.

A second referendum would take place after agreement on all outstanding matters had been reached, and after a period of Scottish financial autonomy. At that stage the shape and feel of independence would have become clearer to the Scottish electorate. If there were a majority for independence in the second referendum, an Act of the UK Parliament would recognise the establishment of an independent Scotland, and the legal succession of the NUK to the UK.

It would be understood from the outset that the UK would only recognise Scottish independence if the legitimate interests of the rest of the UK were adequately protected by the independence settlement agreed between the parties. 

One area of sensitivity would be defence. The terms of a defence pact and the future of the UK nuclear deterrent would affect NATO’s defence of Europe, and NATO as well as the UK would expect some solidarity from Scotland as an aspiring NATO member. Nuclear deterrence is a cornerstone of NATO strategy. As the NATO Council put it in December 2020,  NATO allies “are determined to ensure that NATO’s nuclear deterrent remains safe, secure, and effective, and reject any attempt to delegitimise nuclear deterrence.”

The more that UK politicians respond to SNP calls for Indyref2 with the mantra that now is not the time, the more they confirm the expectation that there will indeed be an Indyref2, and that a one-off bare majority vote for “yes” in that poll will guarantee independence. It is time to move the goalposts, to ensure a more reliable mechanism for any further testing of Scottish opinion on independence, and to flag up the inescapable fact that the UK Government will only recognise an independent Scotland if the interests of the rest of the UK are respected.

This blog is a slightly extended version of one published by the London School of Economics and Political Science here.


Derrick Wyatt, QC

is Emeritus Professor of Law, University of Oxford, where he taught EU law, constitutional law, and public international law.  He was formerly a barrister specialising in litigation before the EU Courts and is currently a Member of the International Academic Council of Fide Fundación.

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.