es Español

跨境知识产权纠纷:ILA-京都指南(GDE 15 报告)

“与 Marketa TRIMBLE 教授、Toshiyuki KONO 教授、Axel METZGER 教授和 Pedro DE MIGUEL ASENSIO 教授一起查找关于跨境知识产权纠纷的第 15 届全球数字化遭遇的报告”

全球数字邂逅 15

Date: 8年2021月

喇叭:

  • Marketa TRIMBLE 教授, Samuel S. Lionel 知识产权法教授,内华达大学,拉斯维加斯(美国),ILA 知识产权和国际私法委员会成员,指南编辑
  • 河野俊之教授,九州大学(日本)法学教授兼执行副校长,ILA 知识产权和国际私法委员会主席,以及指南的编辑
  • Axel METZGER 教授,柏林洪堡大学(德国)民法和知识产权法教授,ILA 知识产权和国际私法委员会联合报告员,指南编辑

主持人和演讲者:

Pedro DE MIGUEL ASENSIO 教授, 马德里康普顿斯大学(西班牙)国际私法教授,ILA 知识产权和国际私法委员会联合报告员,以及指南编辑

引言

德桑特斯教授:在介绍这次遭遇时表示,目的是讨论一个更可预测的跨境知识产权法律框架(“IP”)根据国际法协会的(“国际法协会”)京都指南(“指南”)。 4th 工业革命产生了更多的跨境争议,在这种全球环境下,尤其是与通过国家法院解决冲突的传统方式相比,这对知识产权执法提出了新的复杂挑战。 各国之间的冲突解决程序仍然存在很大差异,这造成了一种缺乏法律确定性的环境,并严重影响了知识产权的执法。 因此,采用关于知识产权的国际私法方面的现代规定是当务之急。 本次会议将讨论京都指南,该指南于 2020 年 79 月由 ILA XNUMX 全体会议批准th 两年一次的会议。

FERNÁNDEZ-LASQUETTY 教授:补充说,知识产权本质上是国际性的,并且为在区域和全球层面实现某种协调做出了许多努力。 事实上,在国际环境中,仍有一些关于诉讼和争端解决的悬而未决的问题。

德米格尔教授:在开始讨论时,我已经说过该指南是持续了大约 10 年的项目的成果。 它是一套完整的规则,涵盖了国际管辖权、法律选择以及判决的承认和执行。 其中一些规则颇具创新性,在国际或国家层面都没有得到解决。 特别是集体版权管理中关于管辖权和法律选择问题的规定。

  1. 这些指南在该领域以前的项目和近期发展的背景下有何意义,尤其是 2019 年《承认和执行民商事外国判决海牙公约》(2009年海牙公约),其中排除了 IP 问题?

河野教授:强调在国际私法中讨论知识产权的想法是海牙失败的结果”审判项目”,这始于 1996 年,当时最大的挑战之一是 IP。 经过10多年的谈判,他们决定不再继续,由此产生的空白被几组学者填补,他们通过启动他们的项目来挽救这个问题。 这是由美国法律研究所发起的,随后是马克斯普朗克研究所,以及在日本、韩国和其他国家的项目。 该指南是这些讨论的综合性、非特定区域的全球输出,涵盖了几乎所有主要司法管辖区。

他进一步解释说,在 2019 年《承认和执行民商事外国判决海牙公约》的谈判中,知识产权问题最初被列入议程,但在谈判结束时,决定将其排除在外。 这方面还存在不足,相信本指南可以填补。

特林布尔教授:强调该项目和指南的重要性首先在于它是全球性的。 这是由于委员会成员来自不同国家的地域范围,显示了来自不同司法管辖区的人就其中一些问题达成一致的能力。 其次,委员会能够处理新问题并更新了之前项目中讨论的一些问题,特别是考虑到法律的新发展。 例如,在美国(“US”),美国法院的管辖权有了一些发展,这对这个项目很重要。

梅茨格教授:解释说,以前提供深入分析和具体建议的区域项目与特定的法律文化有关。 例如,美国法律协会的指导方针是基于北美的经验。 而 ILA 的目的是在国际层面起草折衷方案,以便该准则可以在世界许多地区使用。 他提到该指南已在 Open Access Journal 的特刊上发表(有特别评论和对旧项目的引用) JIPITEC,1 年第 2021 期.

  1. 《指南》的特点是说明可以改进对在线活动引起的跨境知识产权纠纷的监管的工具?

特林布尔教授:在反思这一点时,她表示跨境在线活动在委员会的考虑范围内。 由于媒体无处不在,互联网上的任何冲突都是有问题的。 在当前环境下,知识产权所有者可能难以在互联网上行使他们的权利。 通常,他们需要选择可以帮助他们追求权利的司法管辖区和法律。 该委员会试图使在多个司法管辖区执行知识产权变得可行。 第一步是开设更多具有一般管辖权的法院。 《指引》仍保留一般管辖权规定,将管辖权归属于被控侵权人惯常居所地法院。 此外,准则 5 引入了在被指控的侵权人采取或发起/促进被指控的侵权行为的地方提起诉讼的可能性。 这允许知识产权所有者提出不受地域限制的索赔。 这被列为特定管辖区,但具有一般管辖区的特征。

其次,关于法律选择,指引26对泛在性侵权行为的适用法律做了特别规定。 它允许法院适用单一国家/地区的法律,即与全球侵权有特别密切联系的国家/地区的法律。 该指南为法院提供了建立这种联系的一些因素。 为了平衡这些条款,侵权者可以提供某些国家/地区法律不应适用的证据。 这扩大了权利人可以使用单一国家/地区法律提起全球侵权案件的法院数量。 这大大简化了侵权诉讼和知识产权执法。

河野教授:分享了一个最近的日本案例,突出了这些案例的复杂性。 我已经解释过有一个网站可以提供日本动画“漫画“免费提供给数百万月度用户。 由于诸多争议,该网站突然关闭。 后来发现内容是由一家位于美国的公司提供的,但该网站的服务器位于乌克兰,并且是由一家瑞典服务提供商承包的。 主人失踪了,但最近在菲律宾被捕。 日本的主要问题是刑事方面,赔偿和禁令问题没有得到关注。

  1. 《指南》对知识产权初始所有权的法律选择采取了什么方法? 这一直是争论的焦点,各国法律对此有不同的处理方式。

梅茨格教授:在研究这个问题时,我已经说过初始所有权,主要是版权,一直是知识产权法律冲突中最具争议的问题之一。 许多司法管辖区坚持属地原则并将其应用于初始所有权。 这种方法意味着,要提起跨地域的版权侵权案件,权利人必须在每个司法管辖区进行辩护,以确定他们是合法所有者,首先分配权利的地方以及随后获得权利的方式。 然而,其他司法管辖区,特别是美国,适用一种 法律起源 方法。 这种方法可以根据首次出版地或作品创作地的法律确定适用于初始所有权的法律。 他进一步提到,这些不同的立场反映在以前的区域项目中。 这就是 ILA 必须平衡版权法的这些不同方法和概念的地方。 这不仅是一个教义问题,而且是一个具有经济和哲学背景的问题。 准则 20 提供了一种基于原则的折衷方案 法律起源 方法,但不使用首次发表的地点,而是使用作品的创作地点。 这是作者在创作时的惯常居所。 但是,如果一个国家在分配第一所有权背后有强有力的基本政策,则可以对这些特定国家应用不同的分配(因为它受该国的法律管辖)。

特林布尔教授:强调该指南具有前瞻性,因为它们是为一个更容易跨境诉讼的世界而设计的。 因此,法院将处理更多跨境知识产权纠纷,尤其是在线活动中的知识产权纠纷,这些指南将使法院更容易处理此类纠纷。

  1. 您认为《指引》未来对知识产权纠纷的监管有哪些可能的途径? 将面临哪些挑战?

特林布尔教授:在提到美国时,她说美国法律研究所的项目涉及同一主题,但它是几年前起草的。 《指南》更新了规则,使其在全球范围内更容易被接受。 在美国,考虑到法院在制定其中一些规则方面的作用,指南可以通过启发他们了解其他国家的方法和可能的解决方案来帮助司法机构。 例如,在管辖权问题和一般管辖权规则的发展上,美国法院现在更容易接受《指南》作为可行的解决方案。

梅茨格教授: 表示以前的项目,如 剪辑项目 (知识产权法律冲突原则)被欧洲法院总检察长引用。 因此,本指南可能发挥作用的一个领域是成为法院、仲裁机构和国际组织的灵感来源。 它们可以作为一种软法律文书有所帮助。

河野教授:在扩展前一点时指出,海牙国际私法会议和产权组织发表了 法官指南 关于如何处理国际知识产权事宜(https://www.wipo.int/edocs/pubdocs/en/wipo_pub_1053.pdf)。 这是一份介绍性文件,试图用清晰的语言解释问题以及如何处理这些问题。 该指南被翻译成五(5)种语言,并将被翻译成更多语言,以便律师和法官更容易获得。

  1. 知识产权被排除在以前的立法项目之外,这是有原因的。 这些原因和担忧是否仍然存在,并将对更广泛地认可指南产生影响,或者您是否看到环境发生了变化?

特林布尔教授:澄清说,关于美国处理法律冲突、国际私法和知识产权诉讼的方法,没有太大变化。 政治环境和教育起着重要作用,尤其是在律师对法律冲突的理解方面。 然而,人们对这些争议的认识有所提高,需要司法解决方案,而不是目前的商业解决方案。

  1.  禁令救济行动与否定性宣告性判决行动之间有什么关系? 原告和被告之间是否会争夺最方便的论坛?

德米格尔教授: 在回答这个问题时指出,就可用管辖权的理由而言,《准则》没有区分禁令救济和宣告性行动。 争夺最方便的法庭的问题在于,大多数管辖权理由都受到地域范围的限制。 除了被告的住所地和活动的起源地通常相匹配外,管辖权是有限的。 特别是,授予侵权行为可能造成直接重大损害的国家的法院的管辖权在领土上仅限于法院所在国对侵权行为可能造成直接重大损害的领土。 这意味着向该法院提出索赔不能阻止在不同国家/地区的索赔,因为第一法院的管辖权仅限于其领土。 此外,它还决定了此类法院下达的禁令的有限地域范围。 但是,如果在被告住所地或活动起源地提出索赔,则法院被授予无限管辖权。

  1. 跟进,你如何定义起源地,因为这可以广义地解释(可能有很多可能的地方)?

德米格尔教授: 澄清准则 5a 提供了一个定义,并且应用该定义要求侵权人与该地点有重要且实质性的联系。 这个定义背后的想法是防止侵权者寻求一个几乎没有联系的避风港。 正如欧洲法院的判例法所示,这主要是该人的住所地。

梅茨格教授: 补充说,他希望欧洲法院能够研究该指南,因为它只接受网站的可访问性来确定侵权管辖权,而该指南与这一立场背道而驰。 该指南要求有更实质性的联系,以防止选择与案件有松散联系的司法管辖区。 此外,委员会花了大量时间处理程序协调问题,这一解决方案在准则 17 下提出。但是,我承认,根据国际私法,这是一个复杂的问题。

  1. 该指南可以通过确定管辖权和适用法律来简化如何处理跨境知识产权纠纷,但这将如何有助于执行针对非选定管辖区的第三国国民的决定及其国内法还没有申请?

特林布尔教授:解释了承认和执行部分支持所有以前的规则和指导方针。 因此,预计根据此类规则作出的判决将在其他司法管辖区得到承认和执行。 准则 34 处理了不承认和不执行的理由。所有关于承认和执行外国判决的规则都是为了在大多数情况下提供而起草的。 此外,如果需要,还有关于改编外国判决的规定。 因此,期望判决能够得到承认,并且将指南作为软法或其他可以约束国家的其他类型的文书通过将是理想的。

  1. 如果侵权者不在同一管辖范围内,刑事制裁在多大程度上得到有效执行?

德米格尔教授:表示这个问题提出了一个重要问题,即指南的范围。 范围仅限于民事和商业事务,因为它们不打算适用于刑事诉讼。 刑事案件判决原则上不能在国外执行。 没有与民事和商业索赔类似的刑事判决承认和执行系统,因为这是两个独立的系统。 因此,本指南仅适用于民事和商业索赔。

  1. 《指引》如何处理网络活动禁令问题? 这个问题出现在欧洲法院,索赔人寻求删除在线信息,这是一种特殊的补救措施,因为它会影响全球信息的可用性。 这涉及地域限制的权利以及在多个国家可能侵犯权利的活动。

特林布尔教授:确认这是一个有争议的问题,因为有些司法管辖区可以在需要保护知识产权的情况下授予跨境禁令。 准则 14 涉及禁令的范围,并明确指出它受到特定法院管辖权的限制。 此外,它指出范围不应比保护所执行的知识产权所必需的范围更广。 然后,法院可以将禁令的范围限制在其管辖范围内。 在互联网上,这可以通过新技术能力来实现,例如地理封锁,允许法院设计地域限制禁令。

梅茨格教授: 指出这些准则是一份动态文件,委员会很乐意听取法律从业人员的经验和他们可能提出的任何建议。

结论

MANDERIEUX 教授:最后重申,这些与国际私法和知识产权相关的问题在未来 20 年将非常重要。 关于 Trimble 教授关于互联网与司法管辖区之间联系的评论,Global Digital Encounters 打算解决这些变化的学术弱点。 下一次会议将进一步思考互联网域名的经典问题及其与商标和其他领域的互动。

阿里尔·阿伯丁(Arielle Aberdeen)

尤莉娅·博里索娃(Yulia BorISOVA)

京都指南、评论及其翻译可在以下网址获得: http://www.law.kyushu-u.ac.jp/programsinenglish/kyoto-guidelines/

关于更多信息 全球数字遭遇

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
电子邮箱

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系方式

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Cross-border IP disputes: the ILA-Kyoto Guidelines (GDE 15 Report)

"Find the report of the 15th Global Digital Encounters on Cross-Border IP disputes with Prof. Marketa TRIMBLE, Prof. Toshiyuki KONO, Prof. Axel METZGER and Prof. Pedro DE MIGUEL ASENSIO"
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on email

Global Digital Encounters 15

Date: September 8, 2021

Speakers:

  • Prof. Marketa TRIMBLE, Samuel S. Lionel Professor of Intellectual Property Law, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (US), member of ILA Committee on IP and Private International Law, and editor of the Guidelines
  • Prof. Toshiyuki KONO, Professor of Law and Executive Vice-President at Kyushu University (Japan),  Chair of the ILA Committee on IP and Private International Law, and editor of the Guidelines
  • Prof. Axel METZGER, Professor of Civil and Intellectual Property Law at Humboldt University of Berlin (Germany), Co-Rapporteur of the ILA Committee on IP and Private International Law, and editor of the Guidelines

Moderator and Speaker:

Prof. Pedro DE MIGUEL ASENSIO, Professor of Private international law at University Complutense of Madrid (Spain), Co-Rapporteur of ILA Committee on IP and Private International Law, and editor of the Guidelines

INTRODUCTION

Prof. DESANTES: In introducing this encounter stated that the purpose was to discuss a more predictable legal framework for cross-border intellectual property (“IP”) disputes in light of the International Law Association’s (“ILA”) Kyoto Guidelines (“Guidelines”). The 4th industrial revolution creates more cross-border disputes, which raise new and complex challenges in the enforcement of IP rights in this global environment, especially when compared to the traditional way of solving conflicts through national courts. Conflict solving procedures still differ widely from country to country, which fosters an environment deprived of legal certainty and severely impacts the enforcement of IP rights. Thus, the adoption of modern provisions on the private international law aspects of IP is an urgent matter. This encounter will discuss the Kyoto Guidelines, which were approved in December 2020 by a plenary of the ILA 79th Biennial Conference.

Prof. FERNÁNDEZ-LASQUETTY: Added that IP is international by nature and there have been many efforts to achieve some harmonization at a regional and global level. Indeed, there are still some pending issues regarding litigation and dispute solving in an international environment.

Prof. DE MIGUEL:In starting the discussion, he stated that the Guidelines are an outcome of the project that lasted for around 10 years. It is a complete set of rules which covers international jurisdiction, choice of law and recognition and enforcement of judgements. Some of these rules are rather innovative and have not been addressed either at the international or national level. In particular, the provisions on jurisdiction and choice of law issues in collective copyright management.

  1. What is the significance of these Guidelines in the context of the previous projects in this area and the recent developments, especially the 2019 Hague Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters (2009 Hague Convention), which excluded IP issues?

Prof. KONO:Highlighted that the idea to discuss IP in private international law started as a result of the failure of the Hague “Judgments Project”, which had started in 1996, where one of the biggest challenges at that time was IP. After more than 10 years of negotiations, they decided not to continue, and the resulting lacuna was filled by several groups of academics who rescued the issue by starting their projects. This was initiated by the American Law Institute, followed by the Max Planck Institute, projects in Japan, Korea, and other countries. The Guidelines are a comprehensive, non-region-specific global output of these discussions which covered almost all major jurisdictions.

He further explained that during negotiations of the 2019 Hague Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Judgments in Civil or Commercial Matters IP issues were initially upon the agenda, but at the end of the negotiation, it was decided to exclude them. There is still a lacuna in this area, and it is believed that these Guidelines can fill it.

Prof. TRIMBLE: Underlined that the importance of this project and the Guidelines is firstly that it is global. This is due to the geographical scope as members of the committee came from a variety of countries, showing the ability of persons from different jurisdictions to agree on some of these issues. Secondly, the committee was able to deal with new issues and updated some of those discussed in the previous projects, particularly in light of new developments in the law. For instance, in the United States (“US”), there have been developments regarding the jurisdiction of US courts which were important for this project.

Prof. METZGER: Explained that the previous regional projects that provided in-depth analysis and concrete proposals were linked to a specific legal culture. For example, the American Law Institute’s guidelines were based on the experiences of North America. Whereas the purpose of the ILA was to draft compromises at an international level so that the Guidelines could be used in many regions of the world. He referenced that the Guidelines have been published (with special comments and references to the older projects) in a special issue of the Open Access Journal JIPITEC, Issue 1 of 2021.

  1. What are the features of the Guidelines illustrating the instruments that can improve the regulation of cross-border IP disputes arising from online activities?

Prof. TRIMBLE: In reflecting on this point, she stated that cross-border online activities were on the mind of the Committee. Any conflicts on the internet are problematic because of the ubiquitous nature of the medium. In the current environment, it can be difficult for IP owners to enforce their rights on the internet. Usually, they need to select the jurisdiction and the law that can help them pursue their rights. The committee tried to make it feasible to enforce IP rights across multiple jurisdictions. The first step is to open more courts of general jurisdiction. The Guidelines still maintain the general jurisdiction provision which attributes jurisdiction to the Court of the alleged infringer’s habitual residence. Additionally, Guideline 5 introduces the possibility to file in a place where the alleged infringer acted or initiated/furthered the alleged infringement. This allows the IP owner to bring a claim that will be territorially unlimited. This is listed as a specific jurisdiction, but it has features of general jurisdiction.

Secondly, regarding the choice of law, Guideline 26 includes a special provision on the law applicable to ubiquitous infringements. It permits the court to apply a single country law which is the law of the country that has an especially close connection with global infringement. The Guidelines provide courts with some of the factors to establish this connection. To balance these clauses, the infringer can provide proof that certain country laws should not apply. This expands the number of courts where the rightsholder can use a single country law to bring a global infringement case. This significantly simplifies the infringement proceedings and IP rights enforcement.

Prof. KONO: Shared a recent Japanese case that highlights the complexity of these cases. He explained that there was a website that made available Japanese animations “manga” for free to millions of monthly users. Due to a lot of controversies, the website was suddenly closed. Later it was discovered that the contents were provided by a company located in the US, but the server of this website was located in Ukraine, and it was contracted by a Swedish service provider. The owner disappeared but was recently arrested in the Philippines. The main issue in Japan was the criminal aspect with the compensation and injunctions issues not being in focus.

  1. What is the approach of the Guidelines to the choice of law regarding initial ownership of IP rights? This has always been a point of debate and national laws have different approaches here.

Prof. METZGER: In looking at this issue he stated that initial ownership, primarily in copyright, has always been one of the most controversial questions in the conflict of laws in IP. Many jurisdictions adhere to the territoriality principle and apply it to initial ownership. This approach means that to bring a multi-territorial copyright infringement case, the rightholders must plead in each jurisdiction to establish that they are the rightful owners, where the rights were allocated first and how the rights were acquired afterwards. However, other jurisdictions, specifically the US, apply a sort of lex originis approach. This approach makes it possible to determine the law applicable to initial ownership, based on the law of the place of first publication or where the work has been created. He further mentioned that these different positions were reflected in the previous regional projects. This is where ILA had to balance these different approaches and concepts of copyright law. This is not only a doctrinal issue but one which has an economic and philosophical background. Guideline 20 provides a compromise based in principle on the lex originis approach, but which does not use the place of first publication but the place where the work was created. This is where the author has his habitual residence at the moment of creation. However, if a State has a strong underlying policy behind the allocation of first ownership, it can be possible to apply a different allocation for those specific countries (as it is governed by the law of that State).

Prof. TRIMBLE: Highlighted that the Guidelines are forward-looking as they are designed for a world where there will be easier cross-border litigation. Thus, courts will deal with many more cross-border IP disputes particularly in online activities and these Guidelines will make it easier for them to handle such disputes.

  1. What do you think are the possible means for the Guidelines to influence the regulation on IP disputes in the future? What will be the challenges?

Prof. TRIMBLE: In referencing the US, she stated that the American Law Institute project dealt with the same topic, but it was drafted some years ago. The Guidelines updated the rules and make them more globally acceptable. In the US, given the role of courts in shaping some of these rules, the Guidelines can assist the judiciary by enlightening them about approaches and possible solutions from other countries. For instance, on the issue of jurisdiction and the development of the rules of general jurisdiction, it can now be easier for US courts to accept the Guidelines as feasible solutions.

Prof. METZGER: Stated that previous projects such as the CLIP project (Principles on Conflict of Laws in IP) were cited by the Advocate General of the European Court of Justice. Thus, one field where the Guidelines may play a role is to be an inspiration for courts, arbitration institutions and international organisations. They can be helpful as a soft law instrument.

Prof. KONO: In expanding on the previous point stated that The Hague Conference on Private International Law and the WIPO published A Guide for Judges on how to deal with international IP matters (https://www.wipo.int/edocs/pubdocs/en/wipo_pub_1053.pdf). This is an introductory document trying to explain in clear words the issues and how to deal with them. The Guidelines are translated into five (5) languages and will be translated into more languages so that it is more easily accessible to lawyers and judges.

  1. IP was excluded from the previous legislative projects, and there was a reason for that. Do these reasons and concerns still stand and will have an impact on endorsing the Guidelines more broadly, or do you see a change in the environment?

Prof. TRIMBLE: Clarified that, regarding the US approach to conflict of laws, private international law and IP litigation, not much has changed. The political environment and education play a significant role, particularly in the understanding of conflict of laws by lawyers. However, there is a rise in awareness about these disputes and there will be a need for judicial solutions, as opposed to the present business solutions.

  1.  What is the relationship between actions for injunctive relief and a negative declaratory judgment action? Could there be a race to the most convenient forum between plaintiff and defendant?

Prof. DE MIGUEL: In answering this question stated that the Guidelines do not differentiate between injunctive relief and declaratory actions as regards the grounds of jurisdiction available. The issue with the race to the most convenient forum is that most jurisdiction grounds are limited in territorial scope. Other than the defendant’s domicile and the place of the origin of the activity, which usually coincide,  the jurisdiction is limited. In particular, jurisdiction granted to the courts of the States where the infringement may have caused direct substantial harm is territorially limited to the State in which the court is situated to the territory where the infringement may have caused direct substantial harm. This means that bringing a claim before this court cannot block a claim in a different country since the jurisdiction of the first court is limited to its territory. Furthermore, it also determines the limited territorial reach of the injunctions ordered by such courts. However, if a claim is brought before the defendant’s domicile or the place of the origin of the activity, the court is granted unlimited jurisdiction.

  1. To follow up, how do you define the place of origin as this can be interpreted broadly (there can be many possible places)?

Prof. DE MIGUEL: Clarified that Guideline 5a provides a definition and applying this requires the infringer to have a significant and substantial connection to the place. The idea behind this definition is to prevent the infringer from seeking a haven with little connection. As shown in the case law from the European Court of Justice, this will mostly be the place where the person is domiciled.

Prof. METZGER: Added that he hopes the European Court of Justice would look into the Guidelines because it accepts the mere accessibility to a website for determining infringement jurisdiction and the Guidelines go against this position. The Guidelines require a more substantial connection to prevent selecting a jurisdiction that has a loose connection to the case. Further, the Committee spent considerable time dealing with coordination of proceedings issues and this solution is presented under Guideline 17. However, he acknowledged that this is a complicated issue under private international law.

  1. The Guidelines can simplify how to deal with cross-border IP disputes by determining the jurisdiction and applicable law, but how would this help in the enforcement of a decision against a national of a third country which is not the selected jurisdiction, and its national law has not been applied?

Prof. TRIMBLE: Explained that the section on recognition and enforcement supports all the previous rules and guidelines. Thus, it is expected that judgments rendered according to such rules will be recognized and enforced in other jurisdictions. The grounds for non-recognition and non-enforcement are dealt with in Guideline 34. All of the rules on the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgements are drafted to make them available in most cases. Further, there is a provision on the adaptation of foreign judgements if this is required. So, the expectation is that the judgements can be recognised, and it will be ideal for the Guidelines to be adopted as soft law or another type of instrument that can bind countries.

  1. To what extent the criminal sanction is effectively enforced where infringers are not in the same jurisdiction?

Prof. DE MIGUEL: Stated that this question raises an important issue, which is the scope of the Guidelines. The scope is limited to civil and commercial matters as they are not intended to apply in criminal proceedings. In principle, judgments in criminal matters cannot be enforced abroad. There is no similar system for the recognition and enforcement of criminal judgments as there is for civil and commercial claims because these are two separate systems. As such the Guidelines are intended only for civil and commercial claims.

  1. How do the Guidelines deal with the issue of injunctions against online activities?  This issue has arisen with the European Court of Justice where claimants seek the removal of online information which is an exceptional remedy in that it affects the availability of information worldwide. This deals with rights that are territorial limited and activities that may be infringing rights in several countries.

Prof. TRIMBLE: Confirmed that this is a controversial issue as there are some jurisdictions where cross-border injunctions can be granted if it is so required to protect IP rights. Guideline 14 deals with the scope of injunctions and clearly states it is limited by the jurisdiction of the particular court. Further, it states that the scope should not be broader than is necessary to protect the IP rights enforced. A court could then limit the scope of the injunction to its jurisdiction. On the internet, this can be done due to new technical capabilities such as geo-blocking which allows the court to design territorially limited injunctions.

Prof. METZGER: Stated that these Guidelines are a dynamic document, and the committee would be happy to hear from legal practitioners on their experience and any suggestions that they may have.

CONCLUSION

Prof. MANDERIEUX: In closing reaffirmed that these issues related to private international law and  IP will be very relevant for the next 20 years. Regarding the comment made by Prof. Trimble about the link between the internet and jurisdiction, Global Digital Encounters intends to address the academic weaknesses of these changes. The next encounter will reflect further on the classical issue of internet domain names and their interaction with trademarks and other fields.

Arielle ABERDEEN

Yulia BORISOVA

The Kyoto Guidelines, commentary and their translations are available at: http://www.law.kyushu-u.ac.jp/programsinenglish/kyoto-guidelines/

More information on the Global Digital Encounters

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on email
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.