es Español

许可标准必要专利 - GDE 17 报告

“我们很高兴发布于 17 年 24 月 2021 日举行的第 XNUMX 届全球数字会议关于许可标准必要专利的录音和报告。”

全球数字遭遇

Date:十一月24th,2021

主讲人:

埃琳娜·科斯塔迪诺娃 - 欧盟委员会(DG 增长)

Jorge Contreras 教授 - 犹他大学(美国)

彼得斯 - 彼得斯知识产权

主持人: 豪尔赫·帕迪拉博士 - 指南针词典

介绍

讨论由主持人拉开序幕, 博士 豪尔赫·帕迪拉. 据他介绍,不用说,无线标准已经取得了令人难以置信的成功。 随着时间的推移,技术一直在发展和改进,并已渗透到社会中。 毫无疑问,通过标准开发组织 (SDO) 进行的集体标准化显着加快了步伐并为消费者创造了巨大价值,但目前创新者和实施者之间就如何从中受益存在强烈争议。标准化的投资得到了回报。

换句话说,实施者希望为标准必要专利的许可支付更少的费用,而创新者希望他们支付更多的费用。 归根结底,这是一场边缘战。 尽管如此,最重要的结论是协作标准化对社会运作良好,并且优于专有标准化或政府资助的标准。

这场辩论非常相关,虽然这些技术过去与许多用途相关,但如今由于物联网,它们与更广泛的用途相关。 这些技术趋势改变了无线技术的应用范围以及这些技术对产业政策和经济增长的影响。

欧盟委员会的意见

埃琳娜·科斯塔迪诺娃 带来了欧盟委员会 (EC) 的观点,该委员会一直在密切关注这些问题。 在其 2017 年关于制定欧盟标准必要专利方法的通讯s,EC 发现 SEP 的许可和执行并非无缝衔接,并呼吁在提高透明度的基础上采取平衡的 SEP 许可方法。 欧共体给出指导并宣布了一系列旨在提高标准必要专利许可的行动,并随后发表了多项研究,结果表明 委员会 SEP 专家工作组,并且井井有条 网络研讨会 在这个问题上。

虽然有所改善,但争议仍然存在。 在新公司在全球范围内面临日益激烈的竞争之际,这导致了不确定性。 因此,在其 2020年知识产权行动计划, EC 宣布将通过可能的改革等方式进一步提高 SEP 许可的透明度和可预测性。

什么是下一步? 根据 科斯塔迪诺娃夫人,将举行公众咨询,并要求公众提供反馈。 任何潜在的改革都将补充、考虑并符合对横向合作指南的持续审查,以及欧共体根据艺术向中国发送的问题所产生的任何结果。 63 与贸易有关的知识产权。

EC 认为,对 SEP 采取平衡的方法,包括从整体上审视 SEP,包括与透明度、FRAND 和执法相关的所有相关方面,是前进的最佳方式。 它旨在为诚信谈判创造一个信任和激励的环境。

专利的地域性与 SEP 许可的全球性之间存在紧张关系。 网络研讨会中提出了专利池和全球争议解决机制作为应对这些紧张局势的潜在解决方案。

但是,SEP 中的任何内容都没有看起来那么简单。 在 SEP 中,问题在于细节。 尽管欧共体在竞争法范围内多次表示支持专利池,但这里的挑战仍然是为专利池的参与和从专利池中获得许可创造激励机制。 关于替代性争议解决机制,挑战仍然在于如何在实践中实施这些机制。

FRAND 全球许可和禁诉令

帕迪拉博士 然后将消息交给 Contreras 教授,以解决与反诉讼禁令相关的 FRAND 许可的全球确定问题,他认为这是(法律)创新的沃土。

孔特雷拉斯教授,国家专利范围与全球许可范围之间的紧张关系是所有这些挑战的核心,尤其是当各方在 FRAND 版税水平上存在分歧时。 在这种情况下,法院可以选择专利侵权方法(因此是全国性的)或合同方法(因此是全球性的)。

后者的开创性案例是英国的 无线星球 v 华为 2017 年,这实际上为双方定义全球特许权使用费率的任何司法管辖区打开了大门。 由于当事方倾向于在不同的司法管辖区同时提起诉讼,法院可能会觉得有必要保护他们自己的决定的结果,为反诉讼和反诉讼禁令铺平道路。 这已经升级为纯粹的外交冲突——特别是在欧盟、美国和中国之间——并且,在 Contreras 教授 观点,导致了解决争端的效率和逻辑不高的方式。

孔特雷拉斯教授 一直主张将这个问题排除在法院系统之外,并由一个非政府仲裁机构确定全球特许权使用费,该机构的决定已经 尔加·奥姆内斯 影响。 为了 博士 Padilla,这个设置就像一个“超级池”——用“伪池”的话来说 孔特雷拉斯教授.

彼得斯先生 跳出来提醒,无论这些提案可能获得多少认可和支持——在与 SEP 相关的问题中,魔鬼都在细节中——并认为实施者和专利持有人之间的消耗战将转移到另一个论坛,具有美德将此类战争“集中”在一个地方。 然而,他仍然支持在转向任何裁决系统之前为各方之间的谈判留出空间。 孔特雷拉斯教授 基本上同意这种观点,回顾在许多情况下,当事方无需诉诸法院即可达成一致。

专利池

讨论随后由 帕迪拉博士 走向专利池。 Peters 先生被问及在物联网背景下这种池化的利弊。 在某些情况下,在双边基础上许可 SEP 可能效率不高,这可能涉及相当大的交易成本,尤其是当实施者必须分别由 SEP 持有人联系 SEP 持有人时。 然而,据 Peters 先生称,该专利池又增加了一个效率:SEP 许可人被聚集在一起,一个独立的第三方检查放入池中的专利,以评估这些专利的必要性。

从许可人的角度来看,成本是分担的,从而提高了许可的效率,降低了交易成本,分享了利益。 根据 Peters 先生的经验,池费率低于 SEP 许可人可能收取的个别费率之和。 对于实施者而言,与池打交道可能更具吸引力,因为他们在 SEP 许可方面拥有安全且更公平的竞争环境。

专注于物联网,有更多的参与者需要在许多不同的垂直领域获得许可。 因此,池对许可方和实施方都变得更具吸引力。 对于许可方来说,如果他们在没有经验的市场中共同经营,可能会更容易。 对于实施者来说,有些人可能没有 SEP 许可的经验,因为他们传统上不习惯这种类型的 IP 许可动态。

最后, 彼得斯先生 强调,建立和商定专利池需要时间,因此应提前设计好这些工具。 理想情况下,一旦市场开始表明它可以激励市场的增长,这个池就应该存在。 我建议在标准化上下文中提高对池的认识,以便在流程中更早地设置这些机制。

在他的身边 孔特雷拉斯教授 也赞成自愿汇集。 存储介质等行业由池定义并取得了巨大成功。 然而,各方并不总是对专利池感兴趣,这取决于他们的经济激励。 池在 WiFi 和无线电信领域进行了尝试,但由于财务决策,它们并没有以显着的方式结合在一起,因为专利持有人如果留在池之外可能会最大化他们的利润。 Contreras 教授命名 进步 作为物联网中无线技术池的一个例子。 然而,当今最大的市场——智能手机市场中的一个池子,对于 SEP 持有者来说似乎并不是一个有吸引力的许可机制。

许可谈判组

博士 Padilla 回到 Peters 先生那里,征求他对许可谈判小组的意见。 彼得斯先生承认,这个话题最近受到了越来越多的关注,有几篇文章一直在讨论这些问题,并以反垄断为由拒绝许可谈判小组的想法,因为他们认为这些做法等同于买方卡特尔,而且它们可能是进一步坚持的动机,因为他们可以简单地拒绝许可人可能提出的每一项提议。

但是,从物联网的角度来看,有大量公司需要获得许可并且处于类似的位置,许可谈判小组可能会发挥作用。 一些公司明白他们需要获得许可,但他们没有经验和资源来以可能对他们有利的方式自己进行许可。

根据彼得斯先生的说法,从许可人的角度来看,与这些群体打交道也可能很有吸引力,因为许可人可能有兴趣以最少的努力和尽可能快的速度收取收入。 如果他同时与一组公司谈判并达成单一协议,则可以做到这一点。 物联网行业有数百家公司,相比智能手机市场,如果许可方获得 5 个许可,他/她已经覆盖了 70% 的市场。

根据 孔特雷拉斯教授,与集体谈判相关的反垄断主张被夸大了,这将是非常有利于竞争的一步。 反垄断监管机构可以通过更明确地承认有利于竞争的好处来帮助解决这种情况。

问题和答案

当听众询问如何获得此类仲裁系统的许可时,Contreras 教授建议仲裁决定将仅定义给定 SDO 的 FRAND,因此各方在任何情况下都需要上法庭来定义侵权的后果。 对于 Padilla 博士来说,未能按照仲裁机构规定的条款接受许可可能会自动表明被许可人“不愿意”。

关于(缺乏)反垄断豁免和投资纠纷中的最终挑战, 孔特雷拉斯教授 表示创意律师总是会“想办法让自己忙起来”,但此类仲裁机构最好提前获得主要反垄断机构的预先批准,就像一些专利池已获得美国司法部商业审查一样在美国的信。 [记者注:在即将出台的欧盟水平/标准化指南中是否解决了此类实用性还有待观察]。

彼得斯先生 指出,外部机构的这一 FRAND 定义,只要该费率在 FRAND 范围内,就可以通过防止 CJEU 的华为诉中兴通讯导致的代价高昂且冗长的乒乓,并避免在被许可人不愿意的情况下使法院更有效率。法官必须确定版税率,这通常超出了他们的专业领域。

帕迪拉博士 将辩论带回到治外法权的问题上——它会使欧盟法院变得无关紧要吗? 彼得斯先生 强调了使这个问题更具政治性的实际风险,当时我已经断言欧盟市场的绝对相关性 - 作为生产者和消费者。 在一定程度上不是市场规模的问题,而是哪个法院会更快做出决定。

孔特雷拉斯教授 同意,并指出 Ericsson v Samsung 的案例非常具有说明性:一家瑞典公司和一家韩国公司在德克萨斯州和武汉提起诉讼。 在寻求最有利结果的途径中,在某些情况下,像德国这样的司法管辖区有可能真正吸引此类诉讼。 他总结说,总而言之,这是一个禁令可能会伤害到哪里的问题(例如印度尼西亚),而这种分散可能使公司陷入可以让一些市场下跌的情况,就像在英国的苹果公司可能发生的那样。

观众带来了开源与标准化的接口问题。 科斯塔迪诺娃夫人 提及委员会 2019 年关于“开源软件与标准制定的关系”,并将重点放在这种互动的知识产权方面,认为摩擦不需要发生,它们主要是在许可选择的框架内引起和解决的。 她的观点也得到了张先生的赞同。 彼得斯.

结束语

在最后的话轮到, 彼得斯先生 回顾了这些问题对于物联网领域的绝对超越性,并提倡更有效的许可制度。 对于孔特雷拉斯教授来说,这个话题不是纯粹的双边问题,而是一个国际和政治问题。 政府干预需要消除其中一些障碍,前提是这种消除会产生促进竞争的效果,所有这些都是为了防止贸易战。 太太。 科斯塔迪诺娃 强调参与公众咨询以收集所有利益相关者的意见和感受的重要性。

Desantes 教授 通过从一位国际私法教授的角度强调该主题的迷人之处以及 SEP 许可主题带来的多种角度来结束会议。

执行报告由 卡洛斯·穆尼奥斯·费朗迪斯(CarlosMUÑOZFERRANDIS)维森特·萨弗里拉

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
电子邮箱

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系方式

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Licensing Standard Essential Patents – GDE 17 Report

"We're happy to publish the recording and report from the 17th Global Digital Encounters on Licensing Standard Essential Patents, which took place on November the 24th, 2021."

Global Digital Encounters

Date: November 24th, 2021

Speakers:

Elena Kostadinova – European Commission (DG Growth)

Prof. Jorge Contreras – Utah University (US)

Ruud Peters – Peters IP

Moderator: Dr. Jorge Padilla – Compass Lexecon

Introduction

The discussion was kicked-off by the moderator, Dr. Jorge Padilla. According to him, needless to say, wireless standards have been an incredible success. Technologies have been developing and improving over time and have penetrated society. Whereas there is no dispute that the collective standardisation taking place through Standard Development Organisations (SDOs) has increased the pace significantly and has generated massive value for consumers, it is also true that there are currently strong disputes between innovators and implementers about how the benefits from investment in standardisation are recouped.

In other words, implementers want to pay less for the licensing of Standard Essential Patents, and innovators want them to pay more. At the end of the day, it is a battle on the margins. Nonetheless, the most important conclusion is that collaborative standardisation has worked well for society, and is better than proprietary standardisation or government-sponsored standards.

This debate could not be more relevant, whereas these technologies used to be relevant for a number of uses, nowadays they are relevant for an even wider number of uses due to the Internet of Things. These technical trends change both the scope of applications of wireless technologies and the impact that these technologies will have on industrial policies and economic growth.

The views of the European Commission

Elena Kostadinova brought the perspective of the European Commission (EC), which has been closely watching these issues. In its 2017 Communication on Setting out the EU approach to Standard Essential Patents, the EC found that licensing and enforcement of SEPs is not seamless and called for a balanced approach to SEP licensing based on increased transparency. The EC gave guidance and announced a set of actions aiming to improve SEPs licensing, and published afterward a number of studies, the results of the Commission’s Experts Working Group on SEPs, and organized webinars on the issue.

While there has been some improvement, controversies continue to exist. This results in uncertainty at a time where new companies are facing increasing competition at the global level. Thus, in its 2020 IP Action Plan, the EC announced that it will promote further transparency and predictability in SEP licensing, including through possible reforms.

What are the next steps? According to Mrs. Kostadinova, a public consultation will be held where the public will be asked to provide feedback. Any potential reform will complement, take into account and align with the ongoing review of the Horizontal Cooperation Guidelines, and with any outcome resulting from the questions sent by the EC to China under art. 63 TRIPS.

The EC believes that a balanced approach to SEPs, which would involve looking at SEPs holistically including all relevant aspects related to transparency, FRAND, and enforcement, is the best way to go forward. It aims at creating an environment of trust and incentives for good faith negotiations.

There is tension between the territoriality of patents and the global nature of SEP licensing. Patent pools and global dispute resolution mechanisms were proposed in the webinars as potential solutions to deal with these tensions.

However, nothing in SEPs is as straightforward as it appears. In SEPs the devil is in the detail. While the EC has expressed its support for patent pools on multiple occasions, within the scope of competition law, the challenge here remains on creating the incentives for pool participation and for obtaining a license from the pool. Regarding alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, the challenge remains on how these could be implemented in practice.

FRAND global licenses and anti-suit injunctions

Dr. Padilla then handed the word to Prof. Contreras to address the problematics of global determination of FRAND licenses linked to antisuit injunctions, which he considers to be a fertile field for (legal) innovation.

For Prof. Contreras, the tension between the national scope of patents and the global scope of licenses is at the core of all these challenges, in particular when parties disagree on the level of FRAND royalties. In such cases, courts can either opt for a patent infringement approach (hence national) or for a contractual approach (hence global).

The seminal case for the latter was UK´s Unwired Planet v Huawei in 2017, which virtually opened the door to any jurisdiction where both parties operate to define global royalty rates. Since parties tend to litigate simultaneously in various jurisdictions, courts might feel the need to protect the outcome of their own decisions, paving the way to anti-suit and to anti-anti-suit injunctions. This has escalated into pure diplomatic conflicts -notably between EU, the US, and China- and, in Prof. Contreras’ view, has resulted in a not very efficient -nor logical- way of solving disputes.

Prof. Contreras has sustainably advocated for getting this issue outside of the court system and having the global royalties fixed by a non-governmental arbitration body whose decisions have erga omnes effect. For Dr. Padilla, this setting resembles a “super-pool” – “pseudo-pool” in the words of Prof. Contreras.

Mr. Peters jumped in to remind that regardless of the endorsement and traction such proposals might gain -in SEP-related issues, the devil is in the details- and argued that wars of attrition between implementers and patent holders will just move to another fora, with the virtue of “centralising” such wars in a single place. Yet, he still supports to leave room for negotiations among parties before moving to any adjudication system. Prof. Contreras substantially shared such views, recalling that in many cases parties are able to agree without resorting to courts.

Patent pools

The discussion was then steered by Dr. Padilla toward patent pools. Mr. Peters was asked on the pros and cons of such pooling in the context of the IoT. In some circumstances, licensing of SEPs on a bilateral basis might not be very efficient, and this might involve considerable transaction costs, especially when implementers have to reach SEP holders by SEP holders separately. However, according to Mr. Peters, the pool adds one efficiency step more: SEP licensors are brought together, and one independent third party checks the patents placed in the pool in order to assess the essentiality of these patents.

From the perspective of the licensors, costs are shared, with the consequent increase of efficiency during licensing, cut on transaction costs, and sharing of benefits. According to Mr. Peters’ experience, the pool rates are lower than the sum of the individual rates that SEP licensors may charge. For implementers, dealing with a pool might be more attractive as they have a secured and better level playing field regarding the license of the SEPs.

Focusing on the IoT, there are more players to be licensed in many different verticals. Therefore, pools become more attractive both from the licensors and from the implementers’ sides. From the licensor, if they collectively operate in markets where they don´t have experience it might be easier. For implementers, some might not have the experience on SEP licensing as traditionally they have not been used to this type of IP licensing dynamics.

Finally, Mr. Peters stressed out that it takes time to set and agree on a patent pool, so these instruments should be designed well in advance. Ideally, the pool should be there once the market starts to show that it can incentivize the growth of the market. He suggested an increased awareness of pools in the standardization context in order for these mechanisms to be set earlier in the process.

On his side, Prof. Contreras was also in favour of voluntary pooling. Industries such as the storage media were defined by pools and were great successes. However, parties are not always interested in patent pools, depending on their economic incentives. Pools were tried in WiFi and wireless telecoms space, but they did not come together in a significant way mainly due to a financial decision, as patent holders might maximise their profits if they stay outside of the pool. Prof. Contreras named Avanci as an example of wireless technology pool in the IoT. However, a pool in the biggest market today, the smartphones market, seems to not have been an attractive licensing mechanism for SEP holders.

Licensing negotiation groups

Dr. Padilla came back to Mr. Peters to get his opinion on licensing negotiation groups. Mr. Peters acknowledged that the topic has recently had increased attention and several articles have been covering them and rejecting the idea of the licensing negotiation group on antitrust grounds as they hold these practices to be equal to buyers’ cartels and they might be an incentive for further hold out because they can simply reject every proposal that the licensor could make.

But, from the perspective of IoT, where there is a massive number of companies that need to obtain a license and are similarly situated, licensing negotiations groups might play their role. Some companies understand that they need to take licenses, but they do not have the experience and resources to conduct the licenses themselves in a way that might be beneficial for them.

From a licensor’s perspective, according to Mr. Peters, it might also be attractive to deal with those groups, as a licensor might be interested in collecting revenues with the least effort and as quickly as possible. And this can be done if he negotiates with a group of companies at the same time and reaches a single agreement. In the IoT industry there are hundreds of companies, compared to the smartphone market where if a licensor gets 5 licenses, he/she has already covered 70% of the market.

According to Prof. Contreras, collective negotiation-related antitrust claims are overstated and these would be quite a pro-competitive step to take. Antitrust regulators could help the situation quite a bit by more explicitly acknowledging the pro-competitive benefits.

Questions/Answers

Questioned by the audience on how to get licensees on board of such an arbitration system, Prof. Contreras suggested that the arbitration decision will just define what is FRAND for a given SDO, hence parties will need to go to court in any case to define the consequences of an infringement. For Dr. Padilla, failing to accept a license in the terms defined by the arbitration body might automatically signal the “unwillingness” of the licensee.

Regarding to (lack of) antitrust immunity and eventual challenges in investment disputes, Prof. Contreras stated that creative lawyers will always “find a way to keep themselves busy”, yet it would be advisable for such arbitration body to get pre-clearance in advance from main antitrust bodies, in the same fashion some patent pools have obtained a DoJ Business Review Letter in the US. [Note from the Reporters: it remains to be seen if such practicalities are tackled in the upcoming EU´s Horizontal/Standardisation Guidelines].

Mr. Peters pointed out that this FRAND definition by an external body, provided that such rate is within the FRAND range, can make things more efficient for courts in cases of unwilling licensees by preventing the costly and lengthy ping-pong resulting from CJEU’s Huawei v ZTE and avoiding judges having to determine royalty rates, which is often outside their area of expertise.

Dr. Padilla brought the debate back to the issue of extraterritoriality – will it render EU courts irrelevant? Mr. Peters highlighted the actual risk of making this issue even more political, at the time he asserted the absolute relevance of the EU market – as producers and as consumers. To a certain extent is not a matter of the size of the market, but of which courts will decide faster.

Prof. Contreras concurred, and noted that the Ericsson v Samsung case is quite illustrative: a Swedish company and a Korean company, litigating their case in Texas and Wuhan. In the pathway to seek the most favourable results, jurisdictions such as the German one have the potential to actually attract this kind of litigation – in certain contexts. In sum, it is a matter of where an injunction can hurt (eg Indonesia), and this fragmentation can bring companies to scenarios where they can just drop some markets down, as might have happened in the UK with Apple, he concluded.

The audience brought the issue of the interface between open source and standardisation. Mrs. Kostadinova referred to the Commission’s 2019 Report on “The Relationship Between Open Source Software and Standard Setting”, and put the focus on the IP side of such interaction to argue that frictions do not need to occur and that they will be mostly caused, and addressed, in the framework of license selection. Her views were also endorsed by Mr. Peters.

Closing remarks

During last words turn, Mr. Peters recalled the absolute transcendence of these issues for the IoT sector in particular and advocated for a more efficient licensing system. For Prof. Contreras, this topic is not a purely bilateral matter, but rather an international and political issue. Governmental intervention needs to remove some of these obstacles, provided that such removal produces pro-competitive effects, all of that with the aim of preventing a trade war. Mrs. Kostadinova stressed the importance of participating in public consultations to gather the opinions and sensibilities of all stakeholders.

Prof. Desantes closed the session by highlighting how fascinating is this topic from the perspective of a Private international law professor, and the multiplicity of angles the topic of SEP licensing brings.

Executive report written by Carlos MUÑOZ FERRANDIS and Vicente ZAFRILLA

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.