es Español

部长诚信:误导国家立法机构

“民选政府需要对其公民、议会或国民议会保持透明。”

政府透明度和国家立法机构

民选政府需要对其公民、议会或国民议会保持透明。 透明度规则将根据国家法律和传统而有所不同。 在英国等议会民主制中,议会代表公众对政府负责。 为了确保这种问责制是有意义的,部长们必须尽可能公开他们的政策和决策,并且不得误导议会。

在2月15 2021, FIDE 基金会发表了一篇题为斯科特调查对伊拉克的国防出口”. 作者辩称,法官(斯科特勋爵)在 1996 年的报告中发现英国政府持续误导英国议会并因此破坏问责制在 2021 年仍然是相关问题。英国是否在 2021-22 年的问题议会被英国首相误导,现在重要的是他的留任前景。

对英国首相行为的刑事调查和其他调查

这篇补充文章的背景是,伦敦大都会警察局正在调查几起关于在新冠病毒大流行期间为保护公众而实施的封锁期间唐宁街 10 号的派对造成的不当行为的指控。 如果这些指控属实,它们可能构成对英格兰不时存在的 Covid 锁定规则的刑事违反。

1 年 2021 月 10 日,针对一家全国性报纸对唐宁街违反封锁规定的指控,约翰逊先生在议会中表示:“我能告诉这位正确的博学的绅士,所有 [Covid] 指导都完全遵循了XNUMX……”

然而,五个月后,约翰逊先生因自己违反 Covid 规定而被罚款。 据认为,他仍在接受其他此类违规行为的调查。 警方还对总理办公室工作人员的行为进行了调查。 对首相夫人、财政大臣和唐宁街工作人员处以罚款。 截至 12 年 2022 月 100 日,警方已对唐宁街 10 号的派对开出 XNUMX 多张罚单。 除警方调查外,政府还委托高级公务员苏·格雷调查其涉嫌不当行为。 政府决定在警方调查结果出来之前不公布她的报告。 但她公布的最新发现 [1] 是总理办公室缺乏领导力的一个可恶的迹象 [2].

下议院调查英国首相是否误导议会

21 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,下议院通过了一项议案,将英国首相的行为提交给下议院特权委员会。 简而言之,要确定的问题是约翰逊先生是否故意误导议会关于他自己违反了政府的 Covid 封锁规则; 如果是这样,就众议院应该实施的制裁提出建议。

委员会可能如何处理提出供其审议的问题? 英国有一部不成文的宪法。 它包括一个法规网络; 公约的; 先例; 不时发布的指导方针。 在这种背景下,部长们应该遵守现在称为《部长守则》的行为守则。 1996 年,当 Scott Inquiry 发表报告时,该代码被称为部长程序问题(“QPM”)。 至于误导议会,QPM表示:部长必须向议会提供尽可能全面的信息,了解他们的政策、决定和行动,不得“欺骗或误导议会和公众”[3]. 但政府在向调查提交的文件中表示,它将修改守则,要求部长们的职责不应是“故意误导”议会。 这发生在 1997 年调查报告之后。 加上“有意识地”似乎足够明智。 但 QPM 没有对违反职责的制裁。

总理对部长守则的遵守情况拥有唯一的部长监督权。 到 2019 年,当约翰逊先生重新发布该守则时,约翰逊先生本人承认必须对误导议会进行严厉处罚,这一点意义重大。 故意误导议会的具体处罚是部长应辞职 [4].

需要注意的关键点是,首先,特权委员会是一个政治委员会,而不是一个法院。 它将在政治背景下适用部长守则的条款。 有人批评该守则,就像这里一样,总理本人就是所谓的不法之徒。 即便如此,其次,基本问题是事实问题,必须由部长法典管辖。 首相在向英国议会发表的声明中是否故意误导议会? 这个问题的答案将取决于可以正确推断出总理对他自己的政府颁布的Covid限制的了解的证据。

在这方面,有一些基本的初步观点供委员会考虑。 例如,当他在 1 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日发表声明时,约翰逊先生会先听取他的公务员的简报,然后再向议会发表声明,表示已遵循所有 Covid 指导。 公务员有没有听错? 还是他们的建议被忽略了? 不顾对总理的建议,他亲自领导了整个大流行期间的公开简报会,回答了有关政府限制政策及其运作方式的问题。

有趣的是,在斯科特调查中,部长们自己做出了出口许可决定,因此对国防出口的适用指南以及出口到伊拉克后出口用途的情报评估有个人知识。 这是一个有启发性的平行。

辞职问题将对结果产生重大影响。 委员会的大多数成员是保守派。 如果他们认为有证据证明这一点,他们是否会有政治勇气决定他们自己的领导人故意误导议会? 约翰逊先生没有表现出任何迹象表明如果他故意误导议会,他将辞职。 斯科特调查后也没有任何部长辞职。

反对党领袖基尔·斯塔默爵士 (Sir Keir Starmer QC) 因一次违反 Covid 锁定规则而受到调查。 他曾公开表示,如果被达勒姆警方罚款,他将辞职。

诚信是民主进程的核心。 斯塔默表现出他正直行事的意愿。 英国首相也会这样做吗?

CPJ Muttukumaru CB DL

前英国交通部总法律顾问主席, 国际学术委员会, FIDE 基金会


[1] 在 Covid 限制期间对政府场所涉嫌集会的调查——更新:31 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

[2] 见一般发现 iii

[3] 见 Scott 报告的 K8.1 段。

[4] 内阁办公室公布的部长守则:第 1.3c 段:“部长向议会提供准确和真实的信息至关重要,尽早纠正任何无意的错误。 故意误导议会的部长将被要求向总理提出辞呈。”

毗邻英国议会的是威斯敏斯特教堂。 英国实行君主立宪制。 议会以女王的名义行事。 修道院夫人礼拜堂于 1516 年完工,是包括伊丽莎白一世在内的 XNUMX 位英格兰国王和王后的墓地。
是巴斯勋章的礼拜堂

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
电子邮箱

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系我们

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Ministerial integrity: misleading a national legislature

"Democratically elected governments need to be transparent with their citizens and parliaments or national assemblies."

Government transparency and national legislatures

Democratically elected governments need to be transparent with their citizens and parliaments or national assemblies . The rules on transparency will differ according to national laws and traditions. In a parliamentary democracy such as the UK system, the Government is held to account by Parliament on behalf of the public. To ensure that such accountability is meaningful, Ministers must be as open as possible about their  policies and decision-making and must not mislead Parliament.

On 15 February 2021, FIDE Fundacion published an article entitledScott Inquiry into defence exports to Iraq”. The author argued that the judge’s (Lord Scott) findings in his report in 1996  that the UK Government had persistently misled the UK Parliament and the consequential  undermining of accountability were still relevant issues in 2021. The question whether, in 2021-22, the UK Parliament was misled by the UK Prime Minister is now important to his prospects of remaining in office.

Criminal and other investigations into the conduct of the UK Prime Minister

The background to this supplementary article is that London’s Metropolitan Police are investigating several allegations of misconduct resulting from parties at No 10 Downing Street during periods of lockdown imposed to protect the public during the Covid pandemic. If the allegations are true, they may amount to criminal breaches of the Covid lockdown rules as they existed in England from time to time.

On 1 December 2021, in response to a national newspaper’s allegations of breaches of lockdown rules in Downing Street , Mr Johnson said in Parliament: “ what I can tell the right hon and learned gentleman is that all [Covid] guidance was followed completely in No 10…”

Yet, five months later, Mr Johnson was  fined for his own breach of the Covid rules. It is thought that he is still under investigation for other such breaches. There has also been a police investigation into the conduct  of those who work in the Prime Minister’s Office. Fines have been imposed on the Prime Minister’s wife, on the Chancellor of the Exchequer and on Downing Street staff. As at 12 May 2022, over 100 fines have been issued by the police in respect of parties at 10 Downing Street. In addition to the police investigation, the Government commissioned a top civil servant, Sue Gray, to investigate its alleged misconduct. The Government has decided not to publish her report pending the outcome of the police investigations. But her published update on her  findings [1] is a damning indictment of lack of leadership in the Prime Minister’s office [2].

House of Commons investigation into whether the UK Prime Minister misled Parliament

On 21 April 2022, the House of Commons passed a motion which referred the conduct of the UK Prime Minister to the Privileges Committee of the House. The question  for determination is in summary whether  Mr Johnson knowingly misled Parliament about his own breach of the Government’s  Covid lockdown rules  ; and if so to make recommendations as to the sanctions that the House should impose.

How is the Committee likely to approach the questions raised for its consideration?  The UK has an unwritten constitution. It comprises a network of statutes; of convention; of precedent; of guidance promulgated from time to time. Against that background, Ministers are expected to comply with a code of conduct now called the Ministerial Code. In 1996 when the Scott Inquiry published its report, the code was called Questions of Procedure for Ministers (“QPM”).  As to misleading Parliament, QPM said: Ministers must give Parliament as full information as possible about their policies, decisions and actions and must not “deceive or mislead Parliament and the public”[3].  But the Government, in its submissions to the Inquiry, signalled that it would amend the code to require that the duty on Ministers should be not to “knowingly mislead“ Parliament. That happened in 1997 after the Inquiry reported. The addition of “knowingly” seemed sensible enough.  But QPM contained no sanction for a breach of the duty.

The Prime Minister has sole ministerial oversight of compliance with the Ministerial Code.  By 2019, when Mr Johnson reissued the code, it was significant that Mr Johnson himself accepted that there must be a serious penalty for misleading Parliament. The specified penalty for knowingly misleading Parliament is that the Minister should resign [4].

The key points to note are, first, that the Privileges Committee is a political committee, not a court. It will apply the terms of the Ministerial Code in a political context. There has been criticism of the code where, as here, the Prime Minister himself is the alleged miscreant.  Even so, secondly, the basic question is factual and is necessarily governed by the Ministerial Code. In his statements to the UK Parliament, did the Prime Minister knowingly mislead Parliament? That is a question the answer to which will turn on the evidence of what may properly be inferred about the Prime Minister’s knowledge of the Covid restrictions enacted by his own government.

In that regard, there are some basic preliminary points for the Committee to consider. When, for example, he made his assertion on 1 December 2021, Mr Johnson would   have been briefed by his civil servants before making his statement to Parliament that all Covid guidance had been followed. Did the civil servants get their advice wrong? Or was their advice ignored? Irrespective of advice to the Prime Minister, he had personally led public briefings throughout the pandemic, responding to questions about the Government’s policy on restrictions and on how they were meant to operate.

Interestingly, at the Scott Inquiry, ministers took export licensing decisions themselves and therefore had personal knowledge of the applicable guidelines on defence exports and of the intelligence assessments of the use to which the exports would be put once exported to Iraq. This is an instructive parallel.

The question of resignation will have a heavy bearing on the outcome. The majority of members of the Committee are Conservatives. Will they, if they think that the evidence justifies it, have the political courage to decide that their own leader has knowingly misled Parliament? Mr Johnson has not shown any sign that he will resign if he has knowingly misled Parliament. Nor did any ministers resign in the wake of the Scott Inquiry.

Sir Keir Starmer QC, the leader of the Opposition, is being investigated for a single breach of the Covid lockdown rules. He has publicly said that, if fined by Durham Police, he would resign.

Integrity lies at the heart of the democratic process. Starmer has shown his willingness to act with integrity. Will the UK Prime Minister do the same?

CPJ Muttukumaru CB DL

Formerly General Counsel to the UK Department for Transport Chair, International Academic Council, FIDE Fundacion


[1] Investigation into alleged gatherings on Government premises during Covid restrictions – update: 31 January 2022

[2] See general finding iii

[3] See paragraph K8.1 of the Scott Report.

[4] Ministerial Code published by the Cabinet Office : paragraph 1.3c : “It is of paramount importance that Ministers give accurate and truthful information to Parliament , correcting any inadvertent  error at the earliest opportunity. Ministers who knowingly mislead Parliament will be expected to offer their resignation to the Prime Minister.”

Adjacent to the U.K. Parliament is Westminster Abbey. The U.K. has a constitutional monarchy. Parliament acts in the name of the Queen. The Lady Chapel of the Abbey , completed in 1516, is the burial place of fifteen kings and queens of England , including Queen Elizabeth I. The chapel
is the chapel of the Order of the Bath

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.