es Español

马克龙总统的政治共同体可能成为欧洲的“联合国”或只是一个分散注意力的东西——英国应该确保它有效

“自普京入侵乌克兰以来,伊曼纽尔·马克龙提议建立一个欧洲国家论坛,将欧盟、未来的欧盟成员国和英国聚集在一起,具有新的意义。计划于今年 XNUMX 月初举行一次重要会议。英国已经“可以提供很多,也许可以收获很多。但不能保证成功,马克龙的计划可能会分散对现有政治和安全合作渠道的注意力。”

法国总统马克龙于 2019 年首次呼吁建立一个新的国家集团,称为欧洲政治共同体,并提出 他的想法的更多细节 在今年五月的一次演讲中。  

他认为,马克龙提出的新组织将允许具有共同核心价值观的民主欧洲国家 â�<“为政治和安全合作、能源领域合作、运输、投资、基础设施和自由人的运动。 他补充说,加入它“不一定会预先判断未来加入欧盟,也不会对那些离开欧盟的人关闭。” 换句话说,英国离开欧盟会受到欢迎,土耳其也会受到欢迎,土耳其现在不太可能加入欧盟。

处于萌芽状态的欧洲政治共同体将举行 在布拉格的第一次会议 on 6 7和十月. 英国首相 Liz Truss 已受邀,但在撰写本文时尚未表示她是否会出席。 据报道,她担心新集团将由欧盟及其机构主导。 当然,它会而且期望其他任何东西都是不现实的。 然而,她应该去,她不应该害怕提出自己的一两个大想法来塑造辩论的进程。 欧盟成员国似乎没有充分同意制定一个 他们决心出售的详细蓝图. 她不应该试图劫持马克龙的创意,而是为英国与法国和德国在一个监督欧洲安全和国防的“理事会”中获得一席之地。 毕竟,这是马克龙总统寻求实现的目标之一。 如果 PM Truss 不去布拉格,这将是一个失去的机会。

让欧洲政治共同体 (EPC) 启动并运行,其中所有国家都需要在那里,这可能是一个挑战。 它应该是什么样子,一个有意愿的联盟如何才能在不陷入技术细节谈判的情况下将其付诸实施?

似乎有一种共识,即应避免签订具有约束力的条约,而支持 非正式框架. 那讲得通。 一个好的选择是通过关于组织结构、投票规则和 EPC 投票状态的政治协议来充实目标的一致声明。

一个简单的结构似乎是想要的,当然也是首选。 提案和倡议应直接来自成员国的赞助,而不需要机构秘书处。 

低成本的操作将是一个优先事项。 必须没有新的重大财政承诺,因为必须支付账单的国家已经有足够的账单要支付。 如果各国只需按自己的方式参加面对面或在线会议,就可以避免节俭的行政预算。 这并不排除成员国为特定项目提供资金或相互融资,但这只有在他们逐个项目具体投票时才会发生。

如果新的 EPC 启动,谁将加入? 马克龙参加布拉格会议的邀请名单包括 17 个非欧盟成员国. 新俱乐部的总成员将来自欧盟成员国(27 个)、4 个 EFTA 国家(包括挪威和瑞士)、欧盟崇拜者(包括乌克兰和北约成员国土耳其)以及英国。 并非所有这些国家都可能选择加入,一些欧盟成员国可能更愿意置身事外。 尽管如此,这 40 多个国家的潜在成员数量超过了联合国的五分之一,并且可能是该世界机构的(某种)区域版本。

事实上,EPC 可以非常松散地模仿联合国,其主要目标是维护国际和平与安全,以及至少马克龙总统提出的其他一些目标,例如能源领域的合作和运输。

在 EPC 的这种“联合国”模式中,基本工作单位是欧洲大会,由 EPC 的所有成员国组成。 本届大会将通过决议,通过的门槛为会员总数的 75%。 决议可能会为那些投票给它们的人带来政治承诺,但不会为其他会员国带来政治承诺。 欧洲理事会、欧盟委员会和欧洲议会的主席将参加会议,但没有投票权。 它们将在 EPC 和欧盟机构之间架起一座桥梁。

还将有一个欧洲安全理事会。 这是马克龙过去提出的,作为英国将参与的机构。 在这种表现形式中,它可能包括法国、德国、英国和土耳其。 如果联大表决涉及军事行动或合作或提供军事装备或援助,则只有在得到安理会四个成员中至少三个支持的情况下才能进行。 这样的理事会将推动四方的集体安全思考,并加强英国与其他三方之间的双边联系。 它可以为它注入新的活力 英法军事合作 根据兰开斯特议院协议,该协议已被允许在英国退欧后萎靡不振。 这将使英国和土耳其在欧洲防务界发挥重要作用。 陈述不能代替实质,但它可以影响事件。

这个四重奏的成员都非常有资格担任这个假设的角色。 法国和英国是西欧两个拥有核武器的大国,目前是西欧最可信的军事行动者,也是联合国安理会的成员。 作为欧盟的出纳员和政治重量级人物,德国是不可或缺的,并做出了显着增加军费开支和军事能力的可信承诺。 当天晚些时候,它向乌克兰运送了重要的军事装备。 北约成员国土耳其是马克龙倡议旨在将其纳入他更广泛的政治集团的国家,作为被排除在欧盟之外的安慰奖。 它是一个 可靠的军事力量 位于世界上具有战略意义的地方,需要认真对待。

沿着这些方向的 EPC 可以在短期内启动并运行。 欧洲大会和安理会可以就自己的程序规则达成一致,并提交并提供一个即时或近乎即时的论坛,以就欧洲安全和国防以及可能的其他问题进行讨论和得出结论,但目前安全和国防是优先事项。  

这是不可能的说任何骗局fide这样的倡议是否会为欧洲和更广阔的世界带来更多的安全、稳定和繁荣。 一些潜在的合作伙伴将主要寻求获得新的资金线,而很少考虑他们可能会为这项工作做出什么贡献。 成功将取决于政治观念、精力和决心等无形资产。 一个新的讨论和做出政治承诺的论坛本身不会增加任何人的安全或繁荣,并且从英国的角度来看,可能会分散参与者对现有和成熟的政治、安全和国防合作渠道的注意力,如 G7 和北约以及其他各种防御性合作渠道英国参与的配置。 成功远未得到保证,但马克龙的项目不应该在潜在参与者有机会展示之前就被取消。 英国的手可能是决定性的。 在撰写本文时,是否存在政治远见和意愿尚不得而知。

井架怀亚特,KC 是牛津大学法学名誉教授,教授欧盟法、宪法和国际公法。 他曾是一名专攻欧盟法院诉讼的大律师,现为欧盟国际学术委员会成员。 Fide 基金会,一个独立的、无党派的西班牙智囊团。

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
领英
Facebook
电子邮箱:

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系我们

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

President Macron’s Political Community could become Europe’s “United Nations” or just a distraction – the UK should be making sure it works

"Emmanuel Macron’s proposal for a forum of European nations to bring together the EU, future Members of the EU, and the UK, has taken on new significance since Putin invaded Ukraine. A key meeting is planned for early October this year. The UK has a lot to offer and perhaps a lot to gain. But success is not guaranteed, and Macron’s plan could be a distraction from existing channels of political and security collaboration."

President Macron of France first called for a new grouping of states to be known as the European Political Community in 2019, and offered more details of what he had in mind in a speech in May this year.  

The new organization proposed by Macron would, he argues, allow democratic European nations with shared core values “to find a new space” for political and security cooperation, cooperation in the energy sector, in transport, investments, infrastructures, and the free movement of persons. He adds that joining it “would not prejudge future accession to the European Union necessarily, and it would not be closed to those who have left the EU.” In other words, the UK would be welcome, having left the EU, as would Turkey, which is now unlikely ever to join it.

The embryonic European Political Community is due to hold its first meeting in Prague on 6 and 7 October. UK Prime Minister Liz Truss has been invited but at the time of writing has not said whether she will attend. She is reported to be worried that the new bloc will be dominated by the EU and its institutions. Of course, it will and it would be unrealistic to expect anything else. She should nevertheless go, and she should not be afraid to offer a big idea or two of her own to shape the course of debate. EU Member States do not seem sufficiently in agreement to have a detailed blue-print they are determined to sell. She should not try to hijack Macron’s brainchild, but to secure a place for the UK alongside France and Germany in a “directorate” overseeing European security and defence. That is, after all, one of the objectives President Macron is seeking to achieve. If PM Truss does not go to Prague, it will be an opportunity lost.

Getting a European Political Community (EPC) up and running, with all the States in it that need to be there, could be a challenge. What should it look like, and how might a coalition of the willing get it off the ground without getting bogged down in negotiations about technical detail?

There seems to be a consensus that a binding treaty is to be avoided in favour of an informal framework. That makes sense. A good option would be an agreed statement of aims fleshed out by political agreement on the structure of the organisation, voting rules and the status of votes taken by the EPC.

A simple structure seems to be what is wanted and is certainly to be preferred. Proposals and initiatives should result directly from the sponsorship of member countries, without the need for an institutional secretariat. 

A low-cost operation will be a priority. There must be no big new financial commitments because the countries who would have to pay the bills already have enough bills to pay. Even a frugal administrative budget can be avoided if countries simply pay their own way on attending meetings face-to-face or online. This would not rule out member countries financing specific projects or financing each other, but that would only come about if they voted specifically to do so on a project-by-project basis.

Who will be in the new EPC if it gets off the ground? Macron’s invitation list to the Prague meeting includes 17 non-EU Member States. Total membership of the new club would be drawn from Member States of the EU (27), plus the 4 EFTA States (which includes Norway and Switzerland), plus EU wannabees (which includes Ukraine and NATO member Turkey), plus the UK. Not all these countries might choose to sign up, and some EU Member States might prefer to stay out. Nevertheless, this potential membership of 40 plus countries amounts to more than a fifth of the United Nations and potentially a (sort of) regional version of that world body.

In fact, the EPC could be very loosely modelled on the United Nations, with the maintenance of international peace and security being its main aim, along with at least some of the other objectives flagged up by President Macron such as cooperation in the fields of energy and transport.

In this “United Nations” model of the EPC, the basic working unit would be a European General Assembly, made up of all the Member States of the EPC. This General Assembly would adopt resolutions, with the threshold for adoption being, say, 75% of the total membership. Resolutions might create political commitments for those voting for them, but not for other Member States. The Presidents of the European Council, the European Commission and the European Parliament would participate in meetings but would have no vote. They would provide a bridge between the EPC and the EU institutions.

There would also be a European Security Council. This is something Macron has floated in the past, as a body in which the UK would participate.  In this manifestation it could comprise France, Germany, the UK and Turkey. Where a vote in the General Assembly related to military action or cooperation or the provision of military equipment or aid, it could only be carried if it enjoyed the support of at least three of the four Members of the Security Council. Such a Council would give impetus to collective security thinking by the quartet as well as increased bilateral links between the UK and the other three parties. It could breathe new life into UK-French military cooperation under the Lancaster House agreements, which has been allowed to languish in the aftermath of Brexit. It would give both the UK and Turkey prominent roles in European defence circles. Presentation is no substitute for substance, but it can influence events.

Members of this quartet are all well-qualified for the hypothetical role. France and the UK are Western Europe’s two nuclear-armed powers, currently its most credible military actors, and Members of the UN Security Council. Germany is indispensable as the EU’s paymaster and political heavyweight and has made credible commitments to significant increases in military expenditure and military capability. Late in the day, it delivered significant military hardware to Ukraine. NATO member Turkey is a country the Macron initiative is designed to bring into his broader political grouping as a consolation prize for being excluded from the EU. It is a credible military power located in a strategically significant place in the world and it needs to be taken seriously.

An EPC along these lines could be up and running in short order. The European General Assembly and Security Council could agree their own procedural rules and remit and provide an immediate or near-immediate forum for discussions and conclusions on European security and defence and perhaps other issues, but right at the moment security and defence are priorities.  

It is impossible to say with any confidence whether an initiative like this would bring more security, stability and prosperity to Europe and the wider world. Some potential partners would be looking mainly to secure new lines of funding with little thought of what they might contribute to the exercise. Success would depend on intangibles like political perceptions, energy and resolve. A new forum for talking and making political commitments would not of itself increase anybody’s security or prosperity and could, from a UK perspective, distract participants from existing and proven channels of political, security and defence collaboration like the G7 and NATO and the various other defensive configurations in which the UK is involved. Success is far from guaranteed, but Macron’s project should not be written off before potential participants have had a chance to show their hand. The UK’s hand could be decisive. Whether the political vision and will is there is at time of writing unknown.

Derrick Wyatt, KC is Emeritus Professor of Law, University of Oxford, where he taught EU law, constitutional law, and public international law.  He was formerly a barrister specialising in litigation before the EU Courts and is currently a Member of the International Academic Council of Fide Fundación, an independent and non-partisan Spanish think-tank.

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.