es Español

具有垂直整合的看门人平台的市场中的自我偏好

“在本文中,作者提出了一个模型,在该模型中,面临对其设备潜在饱和需求的看门人设备销售商有动机和能力将消费者通过其设备购买的服务的第三方供应商排除在市场之外。”

我们很高兴通过以下方式分享这篇论文: 豪尔赫·帕迪拉, Compass Lexecon Europe 高级董事总经理兼负责人, 成员 Fide“ 国际学术委员会; 乔·帕金斯,位于伦敦的 Compass Lexecon 高级副总裁兼研究主管 萨尔瓦多·短笛,贝加莫大学(经济系),Compass Lexecon 和 CSEF,意大利贝加莫。 该研究已于 20 月 XNUMX 日发表在《工业经济学杂志》上,可通过 Wiley在线图书馆.

抽象

“看门人”平台的竞争策略受到更严格的审查。 例如,苹果和谷歌被指控向应用程序提供商收取过高的访问费用,并为自己的应用程序提供特权。 一些人认为,当平台的商业模式是销售设备时,此类指控没有经济意义。 在本文中,我们建立了一个模型,在该模型中,面临对其设备潜在饱和需求的看门人设备销售商有动机和能力将消费者通过其设备购买的服务的第三方供应商排除在市场之外。 如果平台设备的需求增长缓慢或为负,则更有可能丧失抵押品赎回权,并且如果设备销售商的服务不如第三方提供的服务,则可能会损害消费者的利益。

1简介

Apple 的 App Store 和 Google Play 等在线市场的经济意义随着时间的推移而增加。 Apple 的 App Store 和 Google Play 在 70 年的总收入约为 2019 亿欧元,其中近 10 亿欧元来自欧洲。 通过此类平台接触消费者刺激了快速创新; Google Play 上有超过 2.5 万个应用程序可用,App Store 上有超过 1.8 万个应用程序。 这是他们“看门人”角色的光明面。 由于其广泛而忠诚的客户群,Apple 的 App Store 和 Google Play 构成了重要的分销渠道。 通过它们分发的应用程序开发人员可以一次接触大量用户。 但这也允许平台提供商向应用程序提供商收取高额的上市费用和(从价) 佣金。 在 App Store 和 Google Play 上,这些占第一年收入的 30%,随后几年占 15%。

一些应用程序开发人员对这些指控提出了投诉。 其他人则认为,看门人商店限制了他们的商业能力,因此他们无法避免这些成本。 这些投诉引起了相当大的政策和监管兴趣以及媒体的关注。 例如,欧盟委员会正在调查苹果对 App Store 的规定是否违反了反垄断法。1 在美国,Epic Games 于 2020 年 XNUMX 月对苹果和谷歌提起诉讼,声称对应用程序可能的支付方式的限制违反了《谢尔曼法案》并损害了消费者的利益。2 荷兰竞争管理机构于 2019 年对移动应用商店进行了市场研究,并建议进一步调查 事前 监管或在该部门更多地使用竞争法。3 更广泛地说,对数字竞争的审查支持采取更积极的监管和反垄断执法方法,包括 Crémer 。 [2019],美国众议院司法委员会 [2020]和数字竞赛专家小组[2019].

投诉人辩称,一些平台利用自己的看门人身份从应用程序开发人员那里获取过多的租金和/或偏袒自己的应用程序,从而损害竞争对手的利益。 一些评论员认为这些指控不合逻辑,认为这种行为会对平台本身产生反作用,因为它们受益于其商店中高价值的第三方应用程序的可用性。 我们的论文调查了这一论点的合理性,试图确定守门人平台何时可能有动机滥用其市场地位。 为此,我们建立了一个程式化的模型,表明平台销售设备滥用其看门人角色的动机与这些设备需求的演变有关。 我们建立了一个双周期博弈,其中销售设备(例如智能手机)的垄断者可以选择(在第二周期)限制互补产品(例如应用程序)的竞争供应商对其用户的访问,或者在换句话说,相对于第三方替代品,它自己的产品享有特权。

我们发现,当电子设备的需求增长健康时,互补市场中止赎的可能性较小。 随着对设备的需求变得饱和,它变得更加有利可图,并且设备销售商提供的服务与第三方竞争对手相比并不算太差。 在我们的模型中,止赎发生在均衡状态,作为设备销售商对其主要业务放缓或下降的最佳反应。 在这种情况下,将竞争对手排除在补充服务市场之外,设备销售商就可以将第一阶段获得的用户群货币化。 如果垄断者的服务不如第三方开发商提供的服务,消费者就会失去赎回权。 随着对设备的需求趋于饱和,这种危害相对更加明显。

我们还表明,除了对消费者不利之外,取消赎回权的能力还会损害设备销售商的利润。 事前. 设备销售商希望能够承诺不取消抵押品赎回权以提高第一阶段的价格。 从较高的时期 1 价格中获得的更大利润超过了在时期 2 中关闭服务市场所获得的利润。但是,存在时间不一致的问题; 当它在第 2 阶段做出决定时,设备销售商可能更愿意取消赎回权以开发其专属市场。 值得注意的是,当设备销售商在第二阶段有更大的止赎动机时(即设备需求饱和时),这种时间不一致问题会更加严重,这也是止赎对消费者伤害更大的情况。 因此,允许(或强制)设备销售商克服时间不一致问题的政策在需求动态下降的行业中相对更为重要。

苹果和谷歌等几家科技巨头似乎已经理解了我们论文中强调的时间不一致问题,这是他们无法避免的。 例如,在 2008 年推出 App Store 时,史蒂夫乔布斯宣布苹果不打算从中获利,所有的钱都会给开发者(科恩 [2008])。 Google 的创始人最初宣传他们的搜索引擎的公正性是因为它不受广告的潜在有害影响(例如,参见 White [2013])。

然而,截至今天,Apple 从 App Store 获得了可观的收入,4 谷歌通过付费广告将其搜索引擎货币化。 这样的例子并不普遍; 例如,帕迪拉 。 [2017] 讨论 Adob​​e 对 pdf 开放标准的承诺如何使其​​能够保持该格式对第三方开发人员和最终用户的吸引力。 但它们确实提供了一些证据表明平台上的时间不一致的激励措施,单方面的承诺不能轻易克服。 因此,可能需要明确的监管限制来保护消费者免受劫持风险。 例如,吉尔伯特 [2021] 认为,可能需要结合反垄断执法和监管来解决对主导平台滥用市场力量的担忧。 这些平台进入售后市场业务可以通过要求强制性质量标准来保护消费者并在竞争对手止赎时补偿他们的损失来减少危害。

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
电子邮箱

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系我们

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Self-Preferencing in Markets with Vertically Integrated Gatekeeper Platforms

"In this paper, the authors propose a model in which a gatekeeper device-seller facing potentially saturated demand for its device has the incentive and the ability to exclude from the market third-party suppliers of a service that consumers buy via its devices. "

We are pleased to share this paper by: Jorge Padilla, Senior Managing Director and Head of Compass Lexecon Europe, member of Fide’s International Academic Council; Joe Perkins, Senior Vice President and Head of Research at Compass Lexecon based in London and Salvatore Piccolo, University of Bergamo (Dept. of Economics), Compass Lexecon and CSEF, Bergamo, Italy. The study has been published in the Journal of Industrial Economics on May 20th and can be accessed via the Wiley Online Library.

Abstract

The competitive strategies of ‘gatekeeper’ platforms are subject to enhanced scrutiny. For instance, Apple and Google are being accused of charging excessive access fees to app providers and privileging their own apps. Some have argued that such allegations make no economic sense when the platform’s business model is to sell devices. In this paper, we build a model in which a gatekeeper device-seller facing potentially saturated demand for its device has the incentive and the ability to exclude from the market third-party suppliers of a service that consumers buy via its devices. Foreclosure is more likely if demand growth for the platform’s devices is slow or negative, and can harm consumers if the device-seller’s services are inferior to those offered by the third parties.

1 Introduction

The economic significance of online marketplaces, such as Apple’s App Store and Google Play, has increased over time. Apple’s App Store and Google Play earned gross revenues of around €70 billion in 2019, of which almost €10 billion was in Europe. Access to consumers via such platforms has stimulated rapid innovation; over 2.5 million apps are available on Google Play, and more than 1.8 million on the App Store. This is the bright side of their ‘gatekeeper’ role. Because of their broad and loyal customer bases, Apple’s App Store and Google Play constitute critical distribution channels. App developers distributing through them can reach a large number of users at once. But this also allows platform providers to charge app providers significant listing fees and (ad valorem) commissions. On the App Store and Google Play, these amount to 30% of revenues in the first year, and 15% in subsequent years.

Some app developers have complained against these charges. Others have argued that gatekeeper stores restrict their commercial ability so that they cannot avoid these costs. These complaints have attracted considerable policy and regulatory interest and media attention. For example, the European Commission is investigating whether Apple’s rules for the App Store violate antitrust laws.1 In the U.S., Epic Games filed lawsuits against Apple and Google in August, 2020, alleging that restrictions on possible payment methods for apps violate the Sherman Act and harm consumers.2 The Dutch competition authority carried out a market study into mobile app stores in 2019, and recommended further investigation into either ex ante regulation or greater use of competition law in the sector.3 More broadly, reviews of digital competition have supported a more active approach to regulation and antitrust enforcement, including Crémer et al. [2019], U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary [2020] and Digital Competition Expert Panel [2019].

Complainants argue that some platforms exploit their gatekeeper status to extract excessive rents from app developers and/or to favor their own apps to the detriment of their rivals. Some commentators have dismissed these allegations as illogical, arguing that such conduct would be counterproductive for the platforms themselves, since they benefit from the availability of highly valuable third-party apps in their stores. Our paper investigates the plausibility of this argument, seeking to identify when a gatekeeper platform might have an incentive to abuse its market position. To this end, we build a stylized model showing that the incentive of platforms selling devices to abuse their gatekeeper role relates to the evolution of demand for these devices. We set up a two-period game where a monopolist selling a device (e.g., a smartphone) has the option (in the second period) of restricting access to its users by the competitive suppliers of complementary products (e.g., apps) or, in other words, privileging its own product relative to third-party alternatives.

We find that when the growth of demand for the electronic device is healthy, foreclosure in the complementary market is less likely. It becomes more profitable as demand for devices becomes saturated, and the service offered by the device seller is not too inferior compared to the third-party competitors. In our model, foreclosure occurs at equilibrium as an optimal response of the device seller to a slowing down or a decline of its primary business. Under these conditions, foreclosing rivals from the complementary service market enables the device seller to monetize the user base acquired in the first period. Consumers will lose out from foreclosure if the monopolist’s service is inferior to those provided by third-party developers. Such harm is relatively more pronounced as demand for devices becomes saturated.

We also show that, in addition to being detrimental to consumers, the ability to foreclose harms the device seller’s profits ex ante. The device-seller would like to be able to commit not to foreclose in order to increase prices in the first period. Greater profits from a higher period 1 price outweigh the profits gained from foreclosing the service market in period 2. However, there is a time-inconsistency problem; when it makes its decision in period 2, the device-seller may prefer to foreclose to exploit its captive market. Notably, this time-inconsistency problem is more severe when the device seller has a greater incentive to foreclose in the second period — i.e., when demand for devices becomes saturated — which is also the case in which foreclosure harms consumers more. Hence, policies enabling (or forcing) device sellers to overcome the time-inconsistency problem are relatively more important in industries that feature declining demand dynamics.

Several tech giants, such as Apple and Google, seem to have understood the time-inconsistency problem highlighted in our paper, which they have been unable to avoid. For example, when launching the App Store in 2008, Steve Jobs announced that Apple did not intend to profit from it, and that all the money would be given to the developers (Cohen [2008]). Google’s founders initially promoted their search engine’s impartiality on the basis that it was not subject to the potentially harmful influence of advertising (see, e.g., White [2013]).

As of today, however, Apple makes considerable revenues from the App Store,4 and Google monetises its search engine through paid advertising. Such examples are not universal; for instance, Padilla et al. [2017] discuss how Adobe’s commitment to an open standard for pdf’s enabled it to maintain the attractiveness of the format for third-party developers and end users. But they do provide some evidence of time-inconsistent incentives on platforms, which cannot easily be overcome by unilateral commitments. Explicit regulatory constraints may therefore be required to protect consumers against the risk of hold-up. For instance, Gilbert [2021] argues that a mix of antitrust enforcement and regulation may be required to address concerns about the abuse of market power by dominant platforms. Entry by these platforms into aftermarket businesses could be made less harmful by requiring mandatory quality standards to protect consumers and to compensate them for losses in the event of rivals’ foreclosure.

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.