es Español

在全球范围内保护域名(GDE 16 报告)

“查找与 Malcolm Bain、Caroline Berube 和 Joe Sekhon 共同举办的第 16 届全球域名保护数字会议的完整报告”

Date:十月14th,2021

主讲人:

马尔科姆·贝恩,Across Legal 的合伙人。

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝, HJM Asia Law & Co LLC 的管理合伙人。

主持人:

乔瑟洪, 朴茨茅斯大学知识产权法高级讲师。

介绍

会议目标:在 COVID-19 危机期间和之后,数字业务和数字信息的访问呈指数级增长。 互联网域名的保护对于企业经营者以及在网络上高度可见的组织(即对于整个社会)变得越来越重要。 因此,域名的价值呈指数级增长,将它们及其相关的 IP 资产暴露在网络攻击、网络抢注和网络抢夺中。 目前如何/可以进一步加强知识产权保护? 世界各地和国际论坛可能会为这种增强达成什么样的共识? 在本次全球数字会议上,来自欧洲、亚洲和北美并发表不同意见的演讲者将提供有关与域名相关的知识产权保护未来的全球图景,并重新构想该领域的知识产权,以支持企业和消费者/社会。

初步说明:  Laurent Manderieux教授 概述说,随着 COVID 大流行,甚至更进一步,业务趋势已从传统运营转向数字运营,其中域名变得更加重要。 二十多年前,建立机制,进一步对接域名与商标等知识产权的关系,以打击抢注、蹭网等可能改变企业信任的行为。 :确实,ICANN,这个在“自下而上”治理规则下运行互联网系统的组织,推动了领导世界知识产权组织的倡议(«WIPO«) 及其成员国,制定行政执法机制,以确保域名和商标之间的关系更加顺畅。 随着当前的大流行,数字时代正在进一步发展,因此域名获得了新的中心地位,尤其是在防御和保护方面。

哈维尔·费尔南德斯-拉斯奎蒂 指出域名问题在多年前通过统一域名争议解决政策(«UDRP«) 解决冲突的规则和管理手段,例如 WIPO。

主持人 乔瑟洪,通过谈论关于域名的讨论和对话的必要性以及为此而面临的全球挑战奠定了基础。 会议采取问答形式(问答) 与 Joe Sekhon 和提出以下问题的参与者的会议:

马尔科姆·贝恩 开始讨论指出,由于域名是由名称或标志构成的,因此保护或恢复域名的基本机制是商标法。 在这种情况下,域名持有人确保拥有针对第三方的合法权利的更简单方法是拥有由域名组成或包含域名的商标。 后者,考虑到 UDRP 系统给予商标持有人一些优先权。

从这个意义上说,如果域名持有人拥有相关商标,则有不同的选择:

  • 发起一项传统的法院案件,声称商标侵权,因为法院可能会意识到使用域名是在贸易过程中的使用。  
  • 使用 Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers («互联网名称与数字地址分配机构(ICANN)«) 以及产权组织或其他中心。
  • 我们是否应该引用国家代码顶级域(«国家代码顶级域名«),某些司法管辖区可能设有管理机构(注册管理机构),其中包含撤销和/或转让域名的特定程序。
  • 此外,如果是竞争对手使用该域名,也可能构成不正当竞争。

最后,还有一种实用的方法可以避免潜在的冲突,那就是购买域名。 与保护措施相反,预防措施是在您的品牌周围购买尽可能多的域名,这在您的上下文中是合理的。

乔瑟洪 强调购买相关域名是经常提供给初创企业的建议。 此外,我已经概述了在英国,它们不适用不正当竞争,而是假冒侵权,适用于一家公司使用与另一家公司相似的域名并利用其商誉和声誉的情况。

在中国和新加坡的现行法律框架下,个人和/或组织如何保护域名? 个人可以在中国注册域名吗?

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝 指出,理想情况下,公司会注册商标,然后获得域名。 然而,这并非总是如此。

在中国,要获得域名«.com»或«.com.cn»,公司必须到中国网络和信息中心(«CNNIC«),由信息部管理,即中国政府的一部分。 一些特性如下:

  • 注册域名的主要优点是域名注册是中英文两种语言,而商标注册过程并不完全是英文。 另外,虽然域名注册的流程可能比较简单,但企业必须到CNNIC认可的XNUMX家注册商之一。
  • 要注册域名,公司还需要在中国持有“营业执照”,域名注册的有效期为一到五年。 众所周知,没有单独注册的中国子公司的公司使用另一家中国公司的“营业执照”,这可能会成为一个有争议的问题,因为域名实际上并不属于使用营业执照的公司,而是属于拥有营业执照的公司。提供营业执照。 从这个意义上说,希望获得域名的外国公司必须依靠他们信任的公司的“营业执照”。
  • 中国人可以注册一个“cn”域名,但外国人注册“cn”域名时会遇到问题,因为要求不一样。

在新加坡,这个过程更简单,因为例如没有语言障碍。 公司应到新加坡网络信息中心注册相关的“.com”或“.sg”。 公司可以通过代理人注册,申请人需要提供当地地址,通常是相关代理人的地址。 正如提到的中国,如果代理公司不可靠,这也可能会引起争议。

在英国,抢注域名面临的一个问题是,有些人可能很容易为此目的注册域名。 这个域名抢注问题在中国不那么突出是因为在注册方面有一个过滤器吗?

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝,解释说,在某种程度上,这是正确的。 但是,必须考虑到,中国企业没有与外国公司相同的限制,因此他们可以注册任意数量的域名。 因此,仍然有很多抢注网络。

对于可以提起的诉讼,可以到CNNIC发起争议,主张他人恶意注册域名。 否则,公司可以诉诸民事法庭。 在这种情况下,最近有一项法律于 2020 年生效,涉及最高法院应如何解释网络抢注案件。

马尔科姆·贝恩 强调指出,尽管“.com”或“.net”域可能更容易注册,但 ccTLD 有时会受到更多限制。 例如,在西班牙,过去一家公司还必须持有商标才能申请域名。 现在,尽管取消了先前的商标注册标准,但公司需要与西班牙建立联系才能注册 «.es» 域名,否则域名可能会受到行政挑战。  

这个问题的一个相关问题是定义什么构成侵权。 我们可以扩展恶意或恶意的概念吗?

马尔科姆·贝恩 观察到根据 UDRP 要求取回域名的三个条件(总结): (i) 拥有合法权利; (ii) 被申请人不享有合法权利; (iii) 被投诉人恶意注册和使用该域名。

注册和使用域名都必须证明恶意,这有时并不容易。 UDRP 提供了一些关于恶意的例子,其中涵盖了所有针对索赔人在先权利的负面行为,例如将索赔人品牌货币化、吸引互联网用户、远离合法网站、提供回售域名给索赔人等

恶意的概念可能会受到一些法律不确定性的影响,但确实在域名系统中引入了一些灵活性,使被调查者能够为自己辩护,例如,当他们善意使用第三方的注册商标或可能具有良好的合法基础——例如,行使言论自由时。

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝 概述在新加坡,恶意将是确定域名未合法注册的主要因素,而在中国,主要标准是恶意。

举证责任始终由原告承担,事实证明,中国法院对原告证明存在恶意的要求非常高,这意味着必须在证明另一家公司之前通过注册域名获取非法利润。 此外,她强调指出,中国给予的损害赔偿不是很高,这给原告增加了额外的复杂性,因为他必须量化其经济损失。 在被告利用在先商标的情况下,这可能会更容易,但原告是否能够证明被指控侵权者的恶意是一个明确的问题。 在此背景下,网络安全法、商标法、反不正当竞争法等相关法律与抢注行为相关。

马尔科姆·贝恩 强调,在存在销售假冒商品或网络钓鱼等犯罪活动的情况下,证明恶意可能更容易,公司甚至可能不需要证明这种恶意,法院就可以理解存在刑事犯罪。 刑事和网络安全法的加强可能有助于解决一些与域名相关的问题,但这只能解决一部分市场和侵权案件。

域名具有在线和国际影响力。 国际域名争议的主要方面有哪些? 域名争议存在哪些法律和司法障碍?

马尔科姆·贝恩 概述说,在程序方面,识别注册人很困难,而且随着使用隐私服务来隐藏注册人的身份变得越来越复杂。 另一方面是,尽管注册人可能未知,但可以使用“whois”工具识别注册管理机构和注册服务商。 无论如何,ICANN 和域名系统的设置降低了程序的不透明度。

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝 澄清新加坡尚未采用 UDRP 规则,这意味着索赔人必须前往新加坡法院。

至于中国,他们目前正在谈判采用UDRP制度,这意味着公司可以上CNNIC或民事法庭。 另一方面,在中国,外国判决的执行可能很复杂,因此找出被告所在地对于确保任何判决的执行至关重要。

过去几年创建的大量新顶级域名 (“tLDN”) 是否有任何影响?

马尔科姆·贝恩 观察到,尽管有很多新引入的 tLDN,但潜在的限制是某些 tLDN 对注册施加了额外的要求。 例如,为了注册 «.coop»,公司可能需要是在其各自管辖范围内注册的合作社。

创建此类新域名可能需要公司根据其营销策略重新调整其知识产权战略和域名战略,并评估是否值得购买此类域名,例如作为预防措施。

与这方面有关, 卡罗琳·贝鲁贝 概述了从营销角度评估公司的目标以及此类用户通常使用 ccTLD 还是 gTLD 的便利性。

考虑到消费趋势(例如,从网站转向网络应用),未来对域名的影响是什么? 是否有关于域名争议的未来路线图?

马尔科姆·贝恩 概述说,就电子商务而言,应用程序商店可能成为一种“注册”,因为它们将托管具有特定品牌的应用程序。 因此,我们可能正在从取消域名转向取消特定应用程序。 他还强调,电子商务领域的争议必须得到更好的监管,例如:(i) 购买域名的成本(大约 10 欧元)与恢复相同的法律费用之间存在明显的不平衡,约 3,000 欧元,无法对潜在侵权者起到威慑作用; (ii) 隐私法和 «WHOIS» 问题,考虑到越来越多地使用隐私服务来掩盖注册人的身份,这最终使得识别潜在侵权者变得困难——在这个领域,一些先前关于注册人身份的筛选可以减少潜在侵权者的数量。

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝 同意必须有更多的预防措施来避免域名争议,例如注册筛选措施的应用。 她还提到了在国际层面针对域名争议制定统一程序法的便利性。

马尔科姆·贝恩 提到,关于同质性,各国将必须决定这种统一是必须以监管的形式还是软法的形式出现。

UDRP 是否应判给投诉人和被投诉人的经济损失?

马尔科姆·贝恩 强调如果提起诉讼,公司可能会获得经济损失,但 UDRP 程序没有经济损失裁决。 因此,它可能会使仲裁员在决定损害赔偿和费用方面处于困境,这可能对网络抢注者和潜在侵权者构成威慑。

卡罗琳·贝鲁贝 概述应该有经济补偿,但其有效性可能取决于特定市场的个人特质。 在中国,抢注者数量庞大,因此即使有经济补偿的裁决,也很难从侵权人那里实际获得此类补偿。

由姓氏组成的商标和域名的注册主要存在哪些问题?

马尔科姆·贝恩 暴露出有一些针对此类案件的特定国家/地区规定,因为虽然其他司法管辖区可能会对姓氏的域名注册造成问题,但在西班牙,您可以将您的姓名/姓氏注册为域名 - 您唯一不能做的就是注册将别人的姓氏作为商标。 与此相关的问题可能是某些商标法规定您不能阻止其他人使用他们自己的姓氏(可能与您的姓氏相同)——因此包括在域名中。

鲁本·卡诺·佩雷斯 (Ruben CANO PÉREZ) 撰写的报告

全球数字遭遇

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook
电子邮箱

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系我们

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Protecting Domain Names in a Worldwide Context (GDE 16 Report)

"Find the full report of the 16th Global Digital Encounters on Domain Name Protection with Malcolm Bain, Caroline Berube and Joe Sekhon"
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on email

Date: October 14th, 2021

Speakers:

Malcolm Bain, Partner at Across Legal.

Caroline Berube, Managing Partner of HJM Asia Law & Co LLC.

Moderator:

Joe Sekhon, Senior Lecturer in IP Law at the University of Portsmouth.

Introduction

Objective of the session: During, and further to the COVID-19 crisis, digital business and access to digital information increased exponentially. The protection of Internet Domain Names became more and more important for business operators, and also for Organizations highly visible on the net, i.e., for society in general. The value of Domain Names thus increased exponentially, exposing them, and the IP assets they relate to, to cyberattacks, cyber-squatting, and cyber-grabbing. How is /can IP Protection be currently further enhanced? What kind of consensus may exist in various parts of the world and in international fora for such an enhancement? For this Session of our Global Digital Encounters, Speakers from Europe, Asia, and North America with a variety of opinions will provide a worldwide picture of the future of IP protection connected to Domain Names, and for re-imagining IP in this area in favor of both business and consumers/society.

Preliminary remarks:  Prof. Laurent Manderieux outlined that, with the COVID pandemic, and even further to it, the trend in business has moved from traditional operations to digital operations, where domain names have become more important. More than twenty years ago, mechanisms were put in place to further link the relationship between domain names and trademarks and other IP rights in order to permit to fight against cyber-squatting, cyber-rubbing, and other behaviors that could alter the trust in business: indeed, ICANN, the organization that runs the Internet system under “bottom-up” governance rules, promoted initiatives that led the World Intellectual Property Organization («WIPO«) and its member states, to develop administrative enforcement mechanisms for ensuring a smoother relation between domain names and trademarks. With the current pandemic, the digital age is further developing and therefore domain names have gained a new centrality in particular for their defense and protection.

Javier Fernandez-Lasquetty pointed out that the matter of domain names created, many years ago, a first digital jurisdiction by the enactment of Uniform Domain-Name Dispute-Resolution Policy («UDRP«) rules and the administration of means for the solution of conflicts such administrations such as WIPO.

Moderator, Joe Sekhon, laid the foundation by speaking about the need for discussion and conversation on domain names and the global challenges to this end. The session took the form of a Q&A (question and answer) session with Joe Sekhon and the participants raising the below questions:

Malcolm Bain started the discussion exposing that, since the domain name is made of a name or a sign, the basic mechanism to protect or recover a domain name is trademark law. In this context, the easier way for domain name holders to ensure there is a legitimate right to be enforced against third parties is to have a trademark consisting of, or containing, the domain name. The latter, considering that UDRP system gives some priority to trademark holders.

In this sense, should the holder of a domain name have a related trademark, there are different alternatives:

  • To launch a traditional court case claiming trademark infringement because courts may appreciate that the use of the domain name is a use in the course of trade.  
  • Using the arbitration UDRP process set up by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers («ICANN«) and WIPO or other centres.
  • Should we refer to a country code Top Level Domain («ccTLD«), some jurisdictions may have Administrative Bodies (Registries) with specific procedures to revoke and/or transfer domain names.
  • In addition, if it is a competitor is using the domain name, also unfair competition could be claimed.

Finally, there is a pragmatic approach to protect from potential conflicts, which is to buy domain names. Preventive action, as opposed to protective action, is buying as many domain names around your brand as is reasonable in your context.

Joe Sekhon highlighted that buying related domain names is an advice oftentimes provided to start-ups. Moreover, he outlined that in the United Kingdom they do not apply, as such, unfair competition, but the tort of passing-off, applicable where one company is using a similar domain name to another company and exploits its goodwill and reputation.

How an individual and/or organization could protect a domain name under current legal framework in China and Singapore? Can individuals register domain names in China?

Caroline Berube pointed out that, ideally, companies would register a trademark and, afterward, obtain a domain name. However, this is not always the case.

In China, in order to obtain a domain name «.com» or «.com.cn» a company has to go to the China Network and Information Center («CNNIC«), managed by the Ministry of Information, that is part of the Chinese Government. Some characteristics are as follows:

  • The main advantage of registering a domain name is that domain name registration is in both English and Chinese language while the trademark registration process is not completely in English. In addition, although the process for domain name registration may be relatively simple, companies must go to one of the sixty Registrars approved by the CNNIC.
  • To register a domain name, companies also need to hold a «business license» in China, which is valid from one to five years for domain name registration. Companies without a separately registered Chinese subsidiary have been known to use the «business license» from another Chinese company, which may become a controversial issue because the domain name does not really belong to the company using the business license, but to the company that has provided the business license. In this sense, foreign companies wishing to obtain a domain name have to rely on «business licenses» from companies that they trust.
  • A Chinese individual may register a domain name «cn», but foreign individuals would have problems while registering «cn» domain names because the requirements are not the same.

In Singapore, the process is simpler since, for instance, there are no language barriers. A company should go to the Singapore Network Information Center and register the relevant «.com» or «.sg». Companies may register through an agent and to the applicant will need to provide a local address, which is frequently that of the relevant agent. As mentioned about China, this may also become controversial if agent companies are not reliable.

One issue faced in the United Kingdom with cyber-squatting is that there are some individuals that may easily register the domain names for such purpose. Is this issue of cyber-squatting less prominent in China because there is a previous filter in terms of registration?

Caroline Berube, explained that, to some extent, this is right. However, it has to be considered that Chinese undertakings do not have the same limitations as foreign companies, therefore they may register as many domain names as they wish. As a result, there is still a lot of cyber-squatting.

With regards to available proceedings, one may go to the CNNIC to launch a dispute to claim that someone else registered a domain name in bad faith. Otherwise, a company can go to civil courts. In this context, there is a recent law that came into effect in 2020 regarding how the Supreme Court should interpret cases of cyber-squatting.

Malcolm Bain highlighted that, whereas «.com» or «.net» domains may be easier to register, ccTLD are sometimes a little bit more restrictive. In Spain, for example, in the past a company had also to hold a trademark in order to be able to apply for a domain name. Now, albeit prior trademark registration criterion was removed, a company needs to have a link with Spain for the registration of a «.es» domain name, or the domain name may be challenged administratively.  

A relevant question in this matter is to define what constitutes infringement. Could we expand on the concept of bad faith or malicious intent?

Malcolm Bain observed that there are three conditions for claiming back a domain name back under the UDRP (summarizing): (i) having a legitimate right; (ii) the respondent not having a legitimate right; and (iii) the respondent having registered and used the domain name in bad faith.

Bad faith has to be proven both for registration and for use of the domain name, something which, sometimes is not very easy. The UDRP provides some examples of what bad faith is, which cover all behaviors that are negatively targeted towards prior rights of the claimant, such as monetizing the claimant brand, attracting internet users, away from the legitimate site, offering to sell the domain name back to the claimant, etc.

The concept of bad faith may suffer from some legal uncertainty, but does introduce some flexibility in the domain name system to enable respondents to defend themselves when, for instance, they are using a third parties’ registered trademarks in good faith or may have a good legitimate basis – e.g., when exercising freedom of speech.

Caroline Berube outlined that in Singapore bad faith would be the main factor for determining that the domain name was not lawfully registered, while in China the main criteria would be the malicious intent.

The burden of proof is always on the plaintiff, and Chinese courts have proven to be very exigent with the plaintiff in proving the existence of malicious intent, meaning that taking an illegal profit by registering a domain name before another company has to be proven. In addition, she highlighted that damages granted in China are not very high, which adds an extra complexity for the plaintiff as he has to quantify its financial losses. In cases where there is a prior trademark being exploited by the defendant it may be easier, but there is a clear issue of whether the plaintiff is able to prove malicious intent on the part of the alleged infringer. In this context, there are relevant laws such as the Cybersecurity Law, Trademark Law and Unfair Competition Law that are relevant when it comes to cyber-squatting practices.

Malcolm Bain stressed that in cases where there is a criminal activity such as selling of counterfeit goods or phishing it may be easier to prove bad faith and companies may not even need to prove such bad faith for a court to understand that there is a criminal offence. The strengthen of criminal and cybersecurity laws could help to address some domain name related issues, but this addresses only a portion of the market and cases of infringement.

Domain names have an online and international presence. Which are the main aspects of international domain name disputes? What the legal and jurisdictional obstacles are in terms of domain name disputes?

Malcolm Bain outlinedthat, in terms of procedural aspects, identifying the registrant is difficult and it is getting more complicated with the use of privacy services to hide the identity of the registrant. Another aspect is that, albeit registrants may not be known, registries and registrars can be identified using tools as «whois». In any case, ICANN and the setting of a domain name system has diminished the opacity of the procedure.

Caroline Berube clarified that Singapore has not yet adopted the UDRP rules, which means that the claimant has to go to a Singapore court.

As to China, they are currently negotiating the adoption of the UDRP system, which entails that a company may either go to the CNNIC or to civil courts. On the other hand, in China, enforcement of a foreign judgment can be complex, therefore finding out where the defendant is located is paramount in ensuring the enforcement of any judgment.

Is there any impact of the vast amount of new Top Level Domain Names («tLDN») that have been created in the past few years?

Malcolm Bain observed that, albeit there are lots of newly introduced tLDN, a potential restriction is that some tLDN impose additional requirements for registration. For instance, in order to register a «.coop» companies may need to be a cooperative registered in their respective jurisdiction.

The creation of such new domain names may entail that companies have to recalibrate their Intellectual Property strategy and the domain name strategy in light of their marketing strategy and evaluate whether it is worth acquiring such domain names, e.g, as a preventive action.

Related to this aspect, Caroline Berube outlined the convenience, from a marketing perspective, to evaluate which is the target of the company and whether such users normally use a ccTLD or a gTLD.

Considering consumption trends (e.g., shift from web sites to web apps), which will be the future impact on domain names? Is there any future roadmap with regards to domain name disputes?

Malcolm Bain outlined that, in terms of e-commerce, apps stores could become a sort of «registrar» because they will be hosting an app with a specific brand. Therefore, we may be shifting from taking down a domain name to taking down a specific app. He also highlighted that disputes in the e-commerce space have to be better regulated, for instance: (i) there is a clear imbalance between the cost of purchasing a domain name, around 10 euros, and the legal fees to recover the same, around 3,000 euros, which could not act as a deterrent for potential infringers; and (ii) privacy law and the «WHOIS» problem, considering the increasing use of privacy services to mask the identity of the registrant which, at the end of the day, makes it difficult to identify the potential infringer – in this space, some previous screening regarding the identity of registrants could work to reduce the amount of potential infringers.

Caroline Berube agreed on the fact that there have to be more preventive measures to avoid domain name disputes such as the application of registration screening measures. She also made reference to the convenience of having homogeneous procedural laws regarding domain name disputes at an international level.

Malcolm Bain mentioned, with regards to homogeneity, that countries will have to decide whether such harmonization has to come in the form of regulation or as soft-law.

Should the UDRP have financial damages awarded, both for complainants and respondents?

Malcolm Bain highlighted that a company may get financial damages if launches a court case, but there is no financial damages award on the UDRP procedure. As such, albeit it could put arbitrators in a difficult position deciding on damages and costs, it could be a deterrent for cyber squatters and potential infringers.

Caroline Berube outlined that there should be financial compensation, but its effectiveness may depend on the individual idiosyncrasies of a particular market. In China, there is a sizeable number of cyber-squatters, therefore even if there is an award granting financial compensation, it could be difficult to actually receive such compensation from the infringer.

What are the main issues arising from the registration of trademarks and domain names consisting of a family name?

Malcolm Bain exposed that there are some country-specific provisions governing this type of cases because while other jurisdictions may pose problems to domain name registration of surnames, in Spain you can register your name/surname as a domain name – the only thing you cannot do is registering someone else’s surname as a trademark. The issue with this may be that some trademark laws establish that you cannot prevent someone else from using their own family name (which could be the same as yours) – including within a domain name, therefore.

Report written by Ruben CANO PÉREZ

Global Digital Encounters

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on email
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.