es Español

最高法院应参与公共辩论以提高其合法性

“制定法律和解释法律是这些法院工作的一部分,但挑战是在民主社会中使这一角色合法化。”
分享到Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
在Facebook上分享
分享电子邮件

是时候让最高法院跟随德国宪法法院的脚步,在他们的判决登上头条时加入公开辩论。 欧洲法院(ECJ)也是如此。 制定法律和解释法律是这些法院工作的一部分,但挑战是在民主社会中使这一角色合法化。 透明度适用于中央银行,也适用于最高法院。 与政治家过度参与法官遴选相比,透明度是一种更好的问责形式。

德国宪法法院去年的一项裁决实际上推翻了欧洲法院维持欧洲中央银行购买债券的判决,并且 掀起法律和政治批评风暴. 波兰宪法法院院长(与波兰民粹主义领袖关系密切) 赞扬德国的判断,说这表明国家法院拥有最终决定权。

所有这一切都激起了德国法院有争议的裁决的两位作者,他们做出了迄今为止无法想象的事情,并接受了媒体采访,为他们的判决辩护。  

有人将其描述为国家宪法法院必须介入以防止欧洲法院严重超越其在欧盟法律下的权力的罕见案例之一。 另一个使法院的立场与波兰和匈牙利的民粹主义政府的立场保持距离,他称这两个政府是想剥夺欧洲法院审查欧盟机构行为合法性的权力。

作为回应, 欧盟普通法院(欧洲法院下级法院)主席也向媒体发表讲话,警告称该裁决可能相当于德国事实上退出欧盟。 这些话是他自己说的,但他似乎是在代表欧盟法院走廊上的同事发言。 他说的话并没有错,但当他说的时候说错了,当时显然有可能要求欧洲法院对德国法院裁决的后果作出裁决。 

然后一个月前 欧盟委员会向 CJEU 提起诉讼 要求德国为其宪法法院的不当行为负责。 这是另一个前所未有的发展。 即使在 1980 年代法国的 Conseil d'État 无视欧洲法院的判决达十年之久,该委员会仍持保留态度。 在这些更困难的时期,CJEU 行动的法律强制和潜在的经济处罚成为委员会的首选手段。 真正独立的德国宪法法院正面临政治压力,以证明冯德莱恩委员会对德国没有好处,并以此向远未独立的波兰宪法法院发出警告。

如果裁决不利于德国,德国政府将有义务采取措施执行该裁决。 目前尚不清楚德国政府可以采取哪些措施来迫使德国宪法法院改变其立场。

在德国宪法法院作出判决后仅三天,欧洲法院就发布了一份新闻稿提及该判决,并表示 从不评论国家法院的判决. 但它接着说,只有欧盟法院才能宣布欧盟机构的行为违反欧盟法律,这至少相当于对德国判决的含蓄反对。

目前,欧洲法院保持沉默是正确的。 但一旦做出判断,就应该更加主动。 是时候用普通人——包括民粹主义者——可以理解的方式向那些生活发生改变(大部分是变得更好)的人说话。

德国宪法法院,以及您能想到的几乎任何最高法院或宪法法院(当然是英国最高法院),都与欧洲法院有很多共同之处。 他们声称他们的判断只是对现有法律的宣告,但他们在制定法律的同时也解释了法律,并将他们的立法作为解释来呈现。

那么,我们应该如何调整圆,并协调对独立法官的需求与民主社会对制定法律和解释法律的法官的某种问责制的需求?

一个类比——远非精确,但值得一提——是独立中央银行的情况。 像最高法院一样,他们做出直接影响社会的决定,并且是技术评估和政策制定的混合体。

要从中央银行吸取的一个教训是,自治官员的政策制定会在民主社会中引发合法性问题,而这可以通过透明度机制来缓解。

欧洲中央银行 2015 年工作论文的作者 评论 这种透明度以及有助于货币政策的有效性,“也是独立中央银行在民主宪法中为其政策决策提供合法性的重要因素”。 这是一个相当传统的观点。

这就是为什么美联储货币政策委员会 英格兰银行公布其政策制定的幕后审议记录, 即使是在事件发生后 8 年!

从中央银行的实践中学到的关于透明度的另一个教训是,货币政策委员会等决策机构的个别成员可以 可以在公共场合自由解释他们的政策立场 在不破坏该机构的效力和完整性的情况下。

应该给予国家最高法院或宪法法院以及欧洲法院的个人成员类似的回旋余地。 与中央银行的情况一样,这将“为他们在民主宪法中的政策决定提供合法性”。

上文提到的德国宪法法院成员和欧盟普通法院院长的声明表明,如果法官选择利用的话,德国和欧盟司法机构已经存在一定的回旋余地。

国家系统有制衡机制来对抗司法角色的立法方面——例如法官的短期任命,以及政治家参与任命过程。

但是,政治家参与法官任命的次数越多,法官就越政治化,在涉及其政治赞助人的案件中,他们可以作为公正裁判的说法越不可信。

英国树立了如何确保司法独立的一个很好的例子(除其他外),所有司法职位都公开发布,政治家在法官的选择中没有发挥积极作用,包括英国最高法院的选择。

在政治家不参与法官选拔的情况下,透明度成为使法官在民主社会中的立法角色合法化的一个更加重要的因素。

最高法院法官(我包括宪法法院和欧洲法院)应该更诚实地对待他们的立法角色,并准备好公开解释和捍卫他们所做的政策选择。

One policy choice which sometimes confronts supreme courts is whether they, as unelected officials, should develop the law in a particular case, or defer to elected legislative bodies. 在这个问题上的透明度可能特别受欢迎。

的确,法官为他们的决定提供了法律推理,但法律推理可能会模​​糊适用现有法律和改变法律之间的区别,并且往往无法披露对结果产生决定性影响的非技术性政策考虑。

然而,法官不应被迫成为媒体人物,也不应寻求这种角色。  

相反,他们应该集体和个人都拥有合格的新闻官员作为中间人,他们将与新闻界和公众接触,并证明导致法律创新或拒绝接受变革的政策选择是合理的。 其目的不应该是征求公众意见,而是要为公众辩论提供信息。

遵循以下精神 英格兰银行对其 MPC 成员的建议,我会建议国家最高法院和宪法法院以及欧洲法院的法官以维护各自法院在公正性和建设性政策辩论方面的高声誉的方式表达他们的个人观点。

德里克·怀亚特(Qerrick Wyatt)教授, Fide 国际学术委员会成员。 本文 第一次出现 作为伦敦智库博客的缩写形式 不断变化的欧洲中的英国.

如果您发现这篇文章有趣,

我们邀请您在社交网络上分享

最高法院应参与公共辩论以提高其合法性
分享到Twitter
Twitter
分享到LinkedIn
LinkedIn
在Facebook上分享
Facebook
分享电子邮件
电子邮箱

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的评论数据是如何处理的.

联系方式

填写表格,我们团队中的其他人会尽快与您联系。

es Español

Supreme courts should join in public debate to increase their legitimacy

"It is part of the job of these courts to make the law as well as to interpret it, but the challenge is to legitimise this role in democratic societies. "
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on email

It is time for supreme courts to follow the lead of the German Constitutional Court, and join in public debate when their judgments hit the headlines. The same goes for the European Court of Justice (ECJ). It is part of the job of these courts to make the law as well as to interpret it, but the challenge is to legitimise this role in democratic societies. Transparency works for central banks, and it could work for supreme courts too. Transparency is a better form of accountability than excessive involvement of politicians in the selection of judges.

A ruling of the German Constitutional Court last year in effect overruled a judgment of the ECJ upholding bond-buying by the European Central Bank, and unleashed a storm of legal and political criticism. The President of Poland’s Constitutional Court (who has close links with Poland’s populist leader) praised the German judgement, saying that it showed that national courts have the last word.

All this provoked two authors of the German court’s controversial ruling to do the hitherto unthinkable and give interviews to the press, defending their judgment.  

One described it as one of those rare cases when a national constitutional court has to step in to prevent the ECJ from gravely exceeding its authority under EU law. The other distanced the Court’s position from that of the populist Governments of Poland and Hungary, which he described as wanting to deprive the ECJ of its authority to review the legality of acts of the EU institutions.

In response, the President of the EU’s General Court (the court below the ECJ) also spoke to the press, warning that the ruling could amount to de facto German withdrawal from the European Union. The words were his own, but he appeared to speak as proxy for colleagues down the corridor in the CJEU. He was not wrong to say what he said, but wrong to say it when he did, when it was obviously possible that the CJEU would be called upon to rule on the consequences of the German court’s ruling. 

Then a month ago the European Commission initiated proceedings before the CJEU to call Germany to account for the misconduct of its Constitutional Court. This was another unprecedented development. Even when in the 1980s France’s Conseil d’État defied CJEU judgements for a decade, the Commission held its fire. In these more troubled times, the legal coercion of a CJEU action and potential financial penalties became the Commission’s first resort. The genuinely independent German Constitutional Court is being put under political pressure to prove that the von der Leyen Commission does no favours for Germany, and as a warning to the far from independent Polish Constitutional Court.

In the event of a ruling against Germany, the German Government would be obliged to take measures to implement that judgment. It is not clear what steps the German Government could take to force the German Constitutional Court to change its position.

Only three days after the judgment of the German Constitutional Court the CJEU issued a press release referring to that judgment and saying that it never commented on the judgments of national courts. But it went on to say that only the CJEU could declare an act of an EU institution contrary to EU law, which amounted to at least implicit disapproval of the German judgment.

For now, the CJEU is right to remain silent. But once it has given judgment, it should be more forthcoming. It is time it spoke to those whose lives it changes (mostly for the better) in terms that ordinary people -including populists – can understand.

The German Constitutional Court, and just about any Supreme or Constitutional Court you can think of (certainly the UK Supreme Court), have much in common with the ECJ. They claim their judgments are simply declaratory of existing law, but they make the law as well as interpreting it, and they present their law-making as interpretation.

So how should we square the circle, and reconcile the need for independent judges with the need in democratic societies for some kind of accountability of judges who make the law as well as interpret it?

An analogy – far from precise, but worthy of remark – is the case of independent central banks. Like supreme courts, they take decisions which directly affect society, and which are a mix of technical assessment and policy-making.

One lesson to be learned from central banks is that policy-making by autonomous officials raises legitimacy issues in a democratic society which can be mitigated through the device of transparency.

The authors of a 2015 working paper for the European Central Bank commented that transparency, as well as contributing to the effectiveness of monetary policy, “is also a vital element for independent central banks to lend legitimacy to their policy decisions in a democratic constitution”. This is a fairly conventional view.

That is why the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England publishes transcripts of its behind-the-scenes deliberations on policy-making, even if it is 8 years after the event!

Another lesson about transparency to be learned from the practice of central banks is that individual members of a decision-making body such as the Monetary Policy Committee can be free to explain their policy positions in public without undermining the efficacy and integrity of that body.

Similar leeway should be given to individual members of national supreme courts or constitutional courts, and the ECJ. As in the case of central banks, this would “lend legitimacy to their policy decisions in a democratic constitution”.

The statements of members of the German Constitutional Court, and of the President of the EU’s General Court, referred to above, suggests that some leeway already exists in Germany and at the level of the EU judiciary if judges choose to make use of it.

National systems have checks and balances to counter the law-making aspect of the judicial role – such as short-term appointments for judges, and the involvement of politicians in the appointments process.

But the more that politicians are involved in the appointment of judges, the more politicised judges become, and the less credible the claim that they can act as impartial referees in cases involving their political patrons.

A good example (amongst others) of how to secure judicial independence is set by the UK, where all judicial posts are publicly advertised, and where politicians play no active role in the selection of judges, including selection for the UK Supreme Court.

Where politicians play no part in the selection of judges, transparency becomes an even more important factor in legitimising the law-making role of judges in a democratic society.

Supreme court judges (and I include constitutional courts and the ECJ) should be more honest about their law-making role, and ready to explain and defend in public the policy choices they make.

One policy choice which sometimes confronts supreme courts is whether they, as unelected officials, should develop the law in a particular case, or defer to elected legislative bodies. Transparency on this issue might be particularly welcome.

It is true that judges provide legal reasoning for their decisions, but legal reasoning can obscure the distinction between applying existing law and changing the law, and often fails to disclose non-technical policy considerations which have had a decisive effect on the outcome.

Judges should not, however, be forced to become media personalities, and they should not seek that role.  

They should instead, both collectively and individually, have well-qualified press officers to act as intermediaries, who will engage with the press and public and justify the policy choices which have led to innovation in the law, or to a refusal to countenance change. The aim should be not to court public opinion, but to inform public debate.

Following the spirit of Bank of England advice to members of its MPC, I would counsel judges of national supreme and constitutional courts, and of the CJEU, to express their personal views in a way that maintains the high reputation of their respective courts for impartiality and constructive policy debate.

Professor Derrick Wyatt QC, Member of the International Academic Council of Fide. This article first appeared in a shortened form as a blog for the London-based think-tank UK in a Changing Europe.

Si te ha resultado interesante el artículo,

te invitamos a compartirlo por Redes Sociales

Supreme courts should join in public debate to increase their legitimacy
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on email
Email

Deja un comentario

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Contacto

Rellene el formulario y alguien de nuestro equipo se pondrá en contacto con usted brevemente.